SA lock named in Romanian squad

2015-08-26 14:03
Rugby ball (File)

Bucharest - South African second row Johannes van Heerden and New Zealand-born fly-half Michael Wiringi figure in Romania's cosmopolitan 31-player World Cup squad announced Wednesday by their Welsh coach Lynn Howells.

This pair are joined by two other naturalised Romanians, Georgian hooker Otar Turashvili and Tonga centre Paula Kinikilau.

"It's the first time that naturalised players have been selected for the Romania squad at a World Cup," a spokesperson for the Romanian rugby federation told AFP on Wednesday.

The list includes a trio of players from France's Top 14 - Mihaita Lazar (Castres), Horatiu Pungea and Valentin Ursache (Oyonnax).

These three will face the country where they play their club rugby as Romania are in Group D alongside France, Ireland, Canada and Italy.

"I hope that this World Cup will go down in the history of Romanian rugby by winning two matches," said prop Lazar.

Lazar made his World Cup debut in 2011 when Romania, held 10-10 by English club side Yorkshire Carnegie in a world Cup prep this month, failed to win any of their four first round games.

Romania have another warm-up game scheduled against Tonga on September 5 in Bucharest.

Romania World Cup squad:

Forwards (17):

Paulica Ion (Perpignan/FRA), Mihaita Lazar (Castres/FRA), Andrei Ursache (Carcassonne/FRA) , Alexandru Tarus (Timisoara Saracens), Horatiu Pungea (Oyonnax/FRA), Andrei Radoi (Timisoara Saracens), Otar Turashvili (Colomiers/FRA), Eugen Capatana (Timisoara Saracens), Valentin Popirlan (Timisoara Saracens), Johannes Van Heerden (Baia Mare), Marius Antonescu (Tarbes/FRA), Valentin Ursache (Oyonnax/FRA), Mihai Macovei (Colomiers/FRA), Viorel Lucaci (Steaua Bucharest), Stelian Burcea (Timisoara Saracens), Ovidiu Tonita (Provence Rugby/FRA), Daniel Carpo (Timisoara Saracens)

Backs: (14):

Florin Surugiu (CSM Bucharest), Valentin Calafeteanu (Timisoara Saracens), Tudorel Bratu (Dinamo Bucharest), Danut Dumbrava (Steaua Bucharest), Michael Wiringi (Baia Mare), Paula Kinikinilau (Timisoara Saracens), Florin Vlaicu (CSM Bucharest), Csaba Gal (Cluj), Adrian Apostol (Baia Mare), Ionut Botezatu (Baia Mare), Florin Ionita (Steaua Bucharest), Madalin Lemnaru (Timisoara Saracens), Catalin Fercu (Saracens/ENG), Sabin Stratila (Steaua Bucharest).

Read more on:    rwc 2015  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.