SA Schools sides announced

2015-07-23 20:30
Damian Willemse (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The South African Rugby Union on Thursday named the SA Schools and SA Schools A squads for the Under-18 International Series against England, France, Wales and Italy in August.

The teams, which consist of 26 players each, were selected by a panel of national and SA Schools selectors following the conclusion of the Under-18 Coca-Cola Craven Week in Stellenbosch.

The SA Schools squad will face Wales on 7 August in Stellenbosch, France on 11 August at Outeniqua Park in George and England on 15 August at City Park Stadium in Cape Town.

The SA Schools A squad, meanwhile, will take on Italy in Stellenbosch, England in George and Wales in Cape Town in their clashes, which will serve as curtain-raisers to the SA Schools matches.

Hein Kriek from Paul Roos Gymnasium has again been appointed the SA Schools coach, while Lance Sendin from Hugenote Hoerskool in Wellington will guide the SA Schools A team.

Following Western Province’s remarkable 95-0 victory against Eastern Province in the final match of the Under-18 Coca-Cola Craven Week, 12 players from the Cape side were selected in the SA Schools squad, while the remainder of the squad was made up of players from the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Eastern Province, SWD, the Valke and Griquas CD.

Eastern Province flyhalf Curwin Bosch, who was named the Coca-Cola Craven Week player of the year in 2014, was one of four players who retained their places in the squad, with the others being Blue Bulls scrumhalf Embrose Papier wing Andell Loubser and Griquas CD looseforward Cobus Wiese.

The squads will assemble in Cape Town on Sunday 2 August to begin their preparations for the series.

In the first four years of the Under-18 International Series, only England have defeat the SA Schools team – a feat which they achieved in the closing match of last year’s tournament.  

SA Schools squad for the Under-18 International Series:

Backs: Andell Loubser (Blue Bulls - Menlo Park), Joshua Vermeulen (Western Province - Paul Roos), Nico Leonard (Western Province - Paul Roos), David Brits (Border - Selborne), Stedman Gans (Blue Bulls - Waterkloof), Manie Libbok (SWD - Outeniqua), Manuel Ras (Western Province - Paarl Boys High), Wandisile Simelane (Golden Lions - Jeppe), Curwin Bosch (Eastern Province - Grey), Damian Willemse (Western Province - Paul Roos), Embrose Papier (Blue Bulls - Garsfontein), Jondre Williams (Western Province - Boland Landbou)

Forwards: Kwezi Mafu (Eastern Province - Grey), Hacjivah Dayimani (Golden Lions - Jeppe), Johan Visser (Western Province - Paarl Gymnasium), Cobus Wiese (Griquas CD - Hoerskool Upington), Ruben De Villiers (Western Province - Paarl Boys High), Salmaan Moerat (Western Province - Paarl Boys High), Ruben Van Heerden (Blue Bulls - AHS), Ernst Van Rhyn (Western Province - Paarl Gymnasium), Ashwyn Adams (Western Province - Rondebosch Boys High), Cabous Eloff (Blue Bulls - AHS), Dewald Maritz (Pumas - Hoerskool Nelspruit), Carlu Sadie (Western Province - Bellville High)Johan Grobbelaar (Western Province - Paarl Gymnasium), Nico Peyper (Valke - EG Jansen)

Coach: Hein Kriek

SA Schools A squad:

Backs: Earll Douwrie (Boland - HTS Drostdy), Riaan Van Rensburg (Eastern Province - Framesby), Tyreeq February (Western Province - Paarl Boys High), Ryan Muller (Western Province - Bellville High), Abner Van Reenen (Blue Bulls - Garsfontein), Mujaahid van der Hoven (Western Province - Rylands), Heino Bezuidenhoudt (Eastern Province - Daniel Pienaar), Cyprian Nkomo (Pumas - Hoerskool Middelburg), Eddie Fouche (Blue Bulls - AHS), Bader-Werner Pretorius (Kwa-Zulu Natal - Michaelhouse), Matthew Dahl (Kwa-Zulu Natal - Hilton), Jason Olivier (Griffons - Welkom Gimnasium).

Forwards: Zain Davids (Western Province - Rondebosch Boys High), Kwanda Dimaza (Border- Dale), Phillip Krause (Blue Bulls - AHS), Ngwekazi Khanya Ncusane (Western Province - Paarl Boys High), PJ Steenkamp (Blue Bulls - Garsfontein), Kamva Dilima (Eastern Province - Grey), Reinhard Nothnagel (Golden Lions - Monument), Hendre Stassen (Valke - EG Jansen), PW Koegelenberg (Boland - Swartland HS), Mashao Mukhari (Blue Bulls - Pretoria Boys High), Ignatius Michael Prinsloo (Free State - Grey College), Abram Venter (Griquas - De Aar High), Andre Lategan (Eastern Province - Framesby), Marnus Van der Merwe (Pumas - Hoerskool Nelspruit)

Coach: Lance Sendin

2015 Under-18 International Series fixtures:

Friday, 7 August – Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch

12h00 – SA Schools A vs Italy U18

14h00 – England U18 vs France U18

16h00 – SA Schools vs Wales U18

Tuesday, 11 August – Outeniqua Park, George

13h00 – SA Schools A vs England U18

15h00 – Wales U18 vs Italy U18

17h00 – SA Schools vs France U18

Saturday, 15 August – City Park Stadium Cape Town

11h00 – SA Schools A vs Wales U18

13h00 – France U18 vs Italy U18

15h00 – SA Schools vs England U18

Read more on:    saru  |  craven week  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.