Cape Town - Following Saturday's Rugby World Cup defeat to arch-rivals the All Blacks in Yokohama, the Springboks have maintained their 'perfect' record against New Zealand with French referee Jerome Garces in charge.


The Springboks' record with Garces handling the whistle against their old foes now stands at: Played 6, Lost 6.

The Springboks' overall record with Garces managing affairs now reads: Played 14, won 4, lost 10 ... for a 29% win-record.

Garces was also the referee when the Springboks famously lost to Japan at the 2015 World Cup in Brighton!

Suffice it to say, the Springboks won't be displeased should they not encounter the Frenchman in the latter stages of the tournament.

While Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus erred in mentioning a '10-2' penalty count in the All Blacks' favour in his post-Test interview - from which Nick Mallett in the SuperSport studios presumably took his cue in confirming while analysing a series of what the former national coach labelled 'incorrect' decisions - the actual penalty count was 9-4 in New Zealand's favour.


South Africa

Try: Pieter-Steph du Toit

Conversion: Handre Pollard

Penalty: Pollard

Drop goal: Pollard

New Zealand

Tries: George Bridge, Scott Barrett

Conversions: Richie Mo'unga (2)

Penalties: Mo'unga (2), Beauden Barrett


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff 

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Francois Louw, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Jesse Kriel

New Zealand

15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Ardie Savea, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Ofa Tuungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Sonny Bill Williams, 23 Ben Smith