Kobe - Scotland captain Stuart McInally has warned his side against a reckless pursuit of a bonus point when they face Samoa in a potentially make-or-break Rugby World Cup clash on Monday.

Tournament hosts Japan's stunning 19-12 win over Ireland on Saturday has left Scotland needing maximum points from each of their three remaining Pool A matches if qualification for the quarter-finals is to remain in their own hands.

But McInally said trying to force the scoring of four tries against Samoa at the Kobe Misaki Stadium could rebound on the Dark Blues.

"We obviously watched the Japan game and we've done the numbers," McInally told reporters at the ground on Sunday.

"We know the implications and what it could mean for us."

"But we just have to go out and win the game first and foremost," the Edinburgh hooker added.

"In my experience, if you start chasing anything else before the game starts then you can get into a bit of trouble."

The Brave Blossoms' latest upset World Cup triumph at the global showpiece, following their memorable win over South Africa in England four years ago, may yet help them deny Scotland a place in the knockout stages.

But McInally had nothing but admiration for the way Japan defeated an Ireland team who were top of the world rankings when the match kicked off.

"I was very impressed by the Japanese side, I thought they played exceptionally well and deserved to win," he said.

McInally insisted, however, that the challenge facing Scotland was unaltered despite this upset.

"I feel that nothing changes for us," he said.

"The task is still the same. It may be a little harder in terms of needing bonus points now, but ultimately we're just going to need to win all of our games to get out of the pool.



15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Willem Nel, 2 Stuart McInally (captain), 1 Allan Dell

Substitutes: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Ryan Wilson, 21 George Horne, 22 Adam Hastings, 23 Duncan Taylor


15 Tim Nanai Williams, 14 Belgium Tuatagaloa, 13 Alapati Leiua, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Ed Fidow, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Melani Matavao, 8 Jack Lam (captain), 7 Thomas Ioane, 6 Chris Vui, 5 Kane Le’aupepe, 4 Teofilo Paulo, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Ray Niuia, 1 Logovii Mulipola

Substitutes: 16 Seilala Lam, 17 Paul Alo Emile, 18 Jordan Lay, 19 Piula Faasalele, 20 Josh Tyrell, 21 Pele Cowley, 22 Ulupano Seuteni, 23 Kieron Fonotia