Cape Town - The Springboks are not perturbed by the prospect of heavy rain during their Rugby World Cup opener against the All Blacks in Yokohama on Saturday.


The weather site is predicting a 60% chance of 9.1mm of rain before - and during - the Test which is scheduled for a 18:45 (11:45 SA time) kick-off on Saturday (September 21).

Springbok assistant coach Matt Proudfoot told the team's official website they were prepared for whatever conditions prevail.

"The weather's the same for both sides so irrespective of what it’s like, both teams will have to play in it," Proudfoot said.

"We have trained in Japan for two weeks or so now and we have experienced the weather differentials - whether it has been hot and humid or dry or rainy - so we've had the opportunity to experience the full spectrum of weather and we’ll prepare as such for Saturday.

"Our plan won't change much but if the weather changes during the game we'll re-assess that. The plan to come here two weeks in advance to play the game against Japan was exactly for that reason - to experience the full range of weather condition and I think that plan has been successful."

Damian de Allende, who will start in midfield against the All Blacks, agreed with his coach although noted that the current Japanese conditions were not what he was used to.

The burly Stormers centre represented the Kintetsu Liners between 2015 and 2017 during the South African off-season.

"When I played (club rugby) here, it was in November and the weather was a lot colder and the ball was a lot drier - it didn’t rain a lot," De Allende said.

"But it has been very hot and humid and the ball has been quite wet and the plan against Japan was not to overplay. We’ll be ready for whatever comes."

Saturday's clash is scheduled for 11:45 (SA time).


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff 

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Francois Louw, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Jesse Kriel

New Zealand

15 Beauden Barrett  14 Sevu Reece, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Ardie Savea, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Ofa Tuungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Sonny Bill Williams, 23 Ben Smith

- Compiled by Herman Mostert