Cape Town - New Zealand assistant coach Ian Foster has refrained from commenting directly on an incident involving their skipper Kieran Read during the 23-13 Rugby World Cup win over South Africa in Yokohama at the weekend.

Video footage (WATCH below) emerged of Read taking out Springbok flank Pieter-Steph du Toit at a lineout - it was off the ball and no doubt high and dangerous, while also preventing Du Toit from tackling All Blacks scrumhalf Aaron Smith.

The incident went unpunished by French referee Jerome Garces and Read was also not cited within the mandatory 24-hour period following the match.

Social media was abuzz over the incident, with many calling for Read to be reprimanded.

When probed about the incident at a press conference on Monday, Foster admitted he had seen it but did not want to comment directly.

"I think the game needs to be reassured we are probably the most scrutinised World Cup we've ever had with the amount of cameras on and what people are looking at, and citing commissioners and TMOs. You've just got to have faith in that programme rather than reacting to social media," Foster said, as quoted by the website.

- Compiled by Herman Mostert