Tindall to skipper England

2011-08-11 16:36

London - Mike Tindall will captain England in their Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Wales in Cardiff this Saturday following an injury to Lewis Moody, manager Martin Johnson confirmed.

Tindall was one of 13 changes named by Johnson from the team which defeated Wales 23-19 at Twickenham last weekend as the England manager juggles his resources ahead of his squad announcement on August 22.

"Last weekend's match was hugely competitive and we expect more of the same as we prepare to travel to the Millennium Stadium," said Johnson.

"We took a lot out of Saturday's game and this weekend gives the selected players their opportunity and a chance for us to improve our overall performance."

Wing Mark Cueto and London Irish loosehead prop Alex Corbisiero are the only two players retained in the starting line-up.

Teams: 15-1

England: Ben Foden (Northampton); Chris Ashton (Northampton); Mike Tindall (Gloucester, captain), Shontayne Hape (London Irish), Mark Cueto (Sale); Toby Flood (Leicester), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens); Nick Easter (Harlequins), Hendre Fourie (Sale), Tom Wood (Northampton), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), Louis Deacon (Leicester), Dan Cole (Leicester), Steve Thompson (Wasps), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish).

Substitutes: Lee Mears (Bath), Matt Stevens (Saracens), Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), James Haskell (Black Rams), Danny Care (Harlequins), Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), Matt Banahan (Bath).

Wales: James Hook (Perpignan); George North (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues), Gavin Henson (unattached), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Mike Phillips (Bayonne); Toby Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, captain), Dan Lydiate (Newport Gwent Dragons), Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons), Craig Mitchell (Exeter), Lloyd Burns (Newport Gwent Dragons), Paul James (Ospreys)

Substitutes: Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Josh Turnbull (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Aled Brew (Newport Gwent Dragons).