Featured Teams


2010-10-25 19:23

Nickname: Eagles

Todd Clever

Coach: Eddie O'Sullivan

RWC Appearances:
5 (First in 1987)

Best result: One match win in 1987 and 2003

The USA have qualified for every single World Cup except the 1995 tournament and are the second best team in North America.

The Eagles, as the team are known, made their Test rugby debut in 1912, when they were narrowly defeated by the Wallabies, but the strength of the team has diminished since then, as other American sports have grown in popularity.

The USA rugby team made their first appearance at the World Cup at the inaugural tournament in 1987, where they were knocked out in the first round after a victory against Japan (21-18) and two defeats to Australia (47-12) and England (34-6).

The Eagles were drawn in a tougher group for the next World Cup in 1991 and were eliminated in the first round after losing all three of their games against New Zealand, England and Italy. The USA conceded a total 113 points and scored only 24 in the pool stage.

The USA missed out on the 1995 tournament after losing two qualification games to Argentina, but returned to the tournament in 1999. The side managed to record one respectable result in their second game, a 25 - 27 defeat to Georgia, but were thrashed 53 - 8 by Ireland and 55 - 9 by Australia in their first and last games in the pool stage.

An expanded 2003 tournament saw the USA record much better results against the teams in their group. The USA lost 19 - 18 to Fiji, lost 15 - 39 to Scotland, beat Japan 39 - 26 and lost 14 -41 to France.

However, the team were drawn in a tough group for the 2007 tournament and struggled to build on the improvements made in 2003. The team finished last in the pool after losing their four games against South Africa, England, Samoa and Tonga.

Besides the World Cup, the Eagles also compete in the Churchill Cup and the Pan American Championship annually, as well as specially scheduled matches against world powers such as France and Ireland.

The USA will face Ireland, Italy Australia and Russia in Pool C of the World Cup.


Forwards: Inaki Basauri, Chris Biller, Todd Clever, Pat Danahy, Eric Fry, JJ Gagiano, Nic Johnson, Scott LaValla, Mike MacDonald, Brian McClenahan, Mate Moeakiola, Shawn Pittman, Hayden Smith, Louis Stanfill, Phil Thiel, John van der Giessen.

Backs: Paul Emerick, Tai Enosa, Colin Hawley, Nese Malifa, Taku Ngwenya, James Paterson, Mike Petri, Blaine Scully, Junior Sifa, Andrew Suniula, Roland Suniula, Kevin Swiryn, Tim Usasz, Chris Wyles.

Key Player
Todd Clever
Height: 1.93m
Weight: 99kgs

American captain and flanker Todd Clever is one of the team's more experienced players, and a strong and versatile flanker.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Pool A


Pool B


Pool C


Pool D

Tank Lanning

Lessons learnt from RWC 2011

2011-10-26 16:45

A few vital life lessons from Tank Lanning's recent trip to New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup quarter and semi-finals. Read More

Rugby World Cup Wallpapers

Download your favourite RWC wallpaper here



Current Conditions

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.