Rugby Championship

Wallabies ready for improved Ireland forwards

2018-06-15 10:25
Michael Hooper (Getty)

Melbourne - Australia captain Michael Hooper says Ireland's beefed-up forward pack means the Wallabies will have to play even better in the second Test than they did in winning the first. 

While star playmaker Johnny Sexton returns to the Irish side among eight changes, only three forwards remain in the Irish pack that lost the opening Test 18-9 to Australia in Brisbane. 

"You've got a bunch of guys who want to come in and make a point," Hooper said on Friday. "No one likes missing out on a game ... so if I was in their shoes, you want to come out and make a difference and I'm sure all their forwards are thinking that way." 

On Thursday, Australia named an unchanged 23 for the second Test. It marked the first time that Cheika has named an unchanged 23 for back-to-back matches in his 46 games in charge of the Wallabies since taking the head coaching job in November 2014. 

Sexton replaced flyhalf Joey Carbery, re-establishing his successful scrum-base partnership with scrumhalf Conor Murray. 

Coach Joe Schmidt created a new front row of Cian Healy, Niall Scannell and Tadhg Furlong while Dan Leavey comes in at openside flank ahead of Jordi Murphy and Devin Toner joins James Ryan in the second row. 

The 24-year-old Leavey, who also has a strong running game, was a standout this season for Leinster and Ireland. Hooper said he is looking forward to seeing him up close. 

"Obviously Poey (Wallaby flanker David Pocock) was outstanding at the ruck last week but early on in the game I thought the Irish were quite good over the ball," Hooper said. "I've heard a lot about him (Leavey) and especially his Six Nations performance. A really quality young flanker." 

The teams play the third and final Test next Saturday in Sydney.



15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 David Pocock, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Lukhan Tui, 21 Pete Samu, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Reece Hodge


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Dan Leavy, 6 Peter O'Mahony (captain), 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Cian Healy

Substitutes: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 John Cooney, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Jordan Larmour

Read more on:    ireland  |  wallabies  |  michael hooper  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.