Rugby Championship

Rassie trims Springbok squad for Argentina trip

2018-08-19 15:42
Rassie Erasmus (Gallo Images)
Rassie Erasmus (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Rassie Erasmus, the SA Rugby Director of Rugby, has named a squad of 28 players for the visit to Argentina, where the Springboks will face the Pumas in Mendoza next Saturday.

READ: Rassie to make changes for second Pumas Test

South Africa and Argentina meet on Saturday, August 25, for the second time in as many weeks in the opening stages of the Rugby Championship.

On Saturday, the Springboks defeated the Pumas 34-21 in a bonus-point win in the first encounter between the sides in Durban.

Erasmus trimmed the forwards by three players, namely Jean-Luc du Preez (loose forward), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (loose forward) and Marvin Orie (lock).

Uncapped flanker Cyle Brink underwent surgery earlier in the week to repair damage suffered to his injured knee.

Squad members Ross Cronje (scrumhalf), Jesse Kriel (centre) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing) are the three backs not travelling over to South America.

The Springboks have a recovery day on Sunday in Durban, while Siya Kolisi and the squad are due to fly out to Argentina on Monday morning.

Erasmus will announce his match day squad on Thursday and Saturday’s away match will be televised live on SuperSport 1 from 21:10 (SA time).

Springbok travelling squad for the Rugby Championship match in Argentina

Forwards (16)

Thomas du Toit (prop, Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock/loose forward, Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (lock, Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (prop, Stormers), Siya Kolisi (captain - loose forward, Stormers), Francois Louw (loose forward, Bath, England), Wilco Louw (prop, Stormers), Frans Malherbe (prop, Stormers), Malcolm Marx (hooker, Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (hooker, Stormers), Franco Mostert (lock, Gloucester, England), Tendai Mtawarira (prop, Sharks), RG Snyman (lock, Bulls/Honda Heat ), Akker van der Merwe (hooker, Sharks), Marco van Staden (loose forward, Bulls), Warren Whiteley (No 8, Lions)

Backs (12)

Lukhanyo Am (centre,  Sharks), Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England), Aphiwe Dyantyi (wing, Lions), André Esterhuizen (centre, Sharks/Sanix Blues, Japan), Elton Jantjies (flyhalf, Lions), Willie le Roux (fullback, Wasps, England), Makazole Mapimpi (wing, Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (centre, Lions), Embrose Papier (scrumhalf, Bulls), Handré Pollard (flyhalf, Bulls), Ivan van Zyl (scrumhalf, Bulls), Damian Willemse (flyhalf, Stormers)


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.