Rugby Championship

Phipps, Tui in for Australia for final Test v Ireland

2018-06-21 07:33
Nick Phipps (Gallo)

Sydney - Halfback Nick Phipps and blindside flank Lukhan Tui will start for Australia in the Wallabies' series-deciding Test against Ireland on Saturday. 

Rugby Australia said Thursday that 63-Test veteran Phipps would replace the injured Will Genia, while Tui's promotion forced David Pocock to move to No 8 where he will replace the dropped Caleb Timu. 

They were the only changes to the starting lineup made by coach Michael Cheika

Genia sustained a broken right arm in the second Test won 26-21 by Ireland in Melbourne. Australia won the first test 18-9 in Brisbane. 

Joe Powell could add to his three Test caps after being named on the bench as reserve halfback, along with 2017 Wallabies rookie of the year Ned Hanigan, who returns from a knee injury. 

Ireland made several changes, including in the frontrow where Jack McGrath and Sean Cronin will partner Tadhg Furlong. In the second row, James Ryan and Devin Toner pack down again while the back row has a new look with Jack Conan coming in at Number 8, CJ  Stander switches to 6 and Peter O'Mahony moves to No 7. 

The halfbacks pairing of Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton will be joined in midfield by Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw. Jacob Stockdale returns to the back three alongside Keith Earls and Rob Kearney. 

The uncapped Ross Byrne was named in the reserves, as was Tadhg Beirne, who made his debut last week in Melbourne. 

Australia and Ireland last played in Sydney in 1994, when the Wallabies won 32-18 at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Saturday's decider will be played at the 45 000-seat Sydney Football Stadium, and Rugby Australia said the match is a sellout.



15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lukhan Tui, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Ned Hanigan, 21 Pete Samu, 22 Joe Powell, 23 Reece Hodge


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Peter O'Mahony (captain, 6 CJ Stander, 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Sean Cronin, 1 Jack McGrath

Substitutes: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Cian Healy, 18 John Ryan, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ross Byrne, 23 Jordan Larmour

Read more on:    ireland  |  australia  |  nick phipps  |  michael cheika  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.