Rugby Championship

Sexton benched for Ireland v Wallabies clash

2018-06-07 09:03
Johnny Sexton (Getty Images)

Brisbane - Joey Carbery will start instead of star flyhalf Johnny Sexton in a much-changed Ireland line-up for the first of three Tests against Australia in Brisbane on Saturday. 

Coach Joe Schmidt also left Six Nations heroes Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Garry Ringrose and Dan Leavy out of his starting team named on Thursday. 

Carbery was Sexton's deputy throughout the Six Nations and while he started the win over Fiji in November, he has struggled to get action in his preferred position at his home province of Leinster. 

Schmidt has indicated he would be rotating the team during the three-Test tour, but his decision to leave his high-calibre players out of the Brisbane opener comes with risks. 

Peter O'Mahony will captain the team in the injury absence of Rory Best as Schmidt keeps Leinster's leading lights on ice after their busy end-of-season run-in. 

O'Mahony first led Ireland on the summer tour to USA and Canada in 2013 and he will be joined in the backrow by Jordi Murphy at openside flank and CJ Stander at No 8. 

James Ryan and Iain Henderson partner up in the second row, while Herring wins his fourth cap at hooker, packing down alongside Jack McGrath and John Ryan in a new look frontrow. 

Fullback Rob Kearney will be joined in the back three by Jacob Stockdale and Keith Earls. 

Robbie Henshaw returns to the team and is reunited with Bundee Aki in the centres, while Carbery partners scrumhalf Conor Murray. 

Schmidt has named Cronin, Healy, Furlong, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Sexton and Jordan Larmour among his reserves.



15 Israel Folau, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Dane Haylett-Petty, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 David Pocock, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Lukhan Tui, 21 Pete Samu, 22cNick Phipps, 23 Reece Hodge


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Joey Carbery, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 Peter O'Mahony (captain), 5 Iain Henderson, 4 James Ryan, 3 John Ryan, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Jack McGrath 

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Johnny Sexton, 23 Jordan Larmour

Read more on:    ireland  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.