Rugby Championship

Argentina pick 13 Jaguares to face All Blacks

2019-07-18 21:17
Pablo Matera (AFP)

Buenos Aires - Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma on Thursday named 13 players from beaten Super Rugby finalists the Jaguares in his team to face New Zealand in the Rugby Championship this weekend.

Only Stade Francais flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez and Saracens prop Juan Figallo did not start the Jaguares' 19-3 defeat to Crusaders in Christchurch.

But while All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has decided to rest eight Crusaders stars and name five uncapped players in his 23-man match day squad, Ledesma is looking to harness the momentum of the free-flowing Jaguares in search of a first ever win over the three-time world champions.

It's an experienced line-up from Ledesma, with 10 players boasting at least 40 caps.

Hooker Agustin Creevy, 34, will make his 84th appearance, leaving him third overall and just three short of the all-time caps record of former flyhalf Felipe Contepomi.

There is no place for in-form Bordeaux-Begles winger Santiago Cordero despite his inclusion in Ledesma's preliminary Rugby World Cup squad.

While the Jaguares won 11 of their last 13 Super Rugby matches, Argentina won only two of 12 internationals in 2018.

Argentina need a good showing in the Rugby Championship to maintain the confidence generated by their franchise's run, not least because they face a tough World Cup group alongside England, France, the US and Tonga.

This is a competition in which Argentina have finished bottom in six of their seven participations.

The only time they didn't was in the last World Cup year when the teams played each other only once rather than twice - as will be the case this year. 

A home victory over winless South Africa saw them finish third.

It will be the fourth time Argentina host New Zealand at the Jose Amalfitani stadium, where the three previous occasions produced similar results: 35-17, 36-10 and 36-17.

Kick-off is at 20:05 SA time.



15 Emiliano Boffelli; 14 Matias Moroni, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano; 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli; 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain); 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti; 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.

Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23 Joaquin Tuculet

New Zealand

15 Ben Smith, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Jordie Barrett, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Ofa Tuungafasi

Substitutes: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jackson Hemopo, 20 Luke Jacobson, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Braydon Ennor

Read more on:    pumas  |  all blacks  |  rugby championship  |  rwc 2019  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.