Rugby Championship

Irish change 5 for Australia series decider

2018-06-21 07:24
Joe Schmidt (Gallo)

Sydney - Ireland announced five changes on Thursday as they seek their first Test series victory in 39 years in Australia, who beefed up their pack for Saturday's showdown in Sydney.

After levelling the three-Test series at 1-1 last week, Ireland coach Joe Schmidt made two changes to the front row with Jack McGrath at loosehead prop alongside recalled hooker Sean Cronin.

Hooker Niall Scannell and prop Cian Healy, who played in Ireland's 26-21 win in Melbourne, were named among the reserves.

In the back row, skipper Peter O'Mahony was selected at openside flank and CJ Stander shifted to blindside to accommodate Jack Conan at number eight.

Among the backs, Robbie Henshaw moves to outside-centre with Bundee Aki named ahead of Garry Ringrose at inside-centre. 

Wing Jacob Stockdale was recalled in place of Andrew Conway, who was left out of the 23-man match day squad.

There were further changes among Ireland's reserves, with John Cooney and Joey Carbery replaced by Kieran Marmion and Ross Byrne.

Meanwhile Wallabies coach Michael Cheika brought in flank Lukhan Tui and named Nick Phipps as scrumhalf to replace Will Genia, who broke his arm in Melbourne.

David Pocock moves to number eight to accommodate Tui at blindside flank where Cheika is looking for more physicality from his forwards pack, who were dominated in Melbourne.

Waratahs forward Ned Hanigan, back from a knee injury, has been named on a reserves bench featuring a six-two forwards-backs split.

Until last week, Ireland's last win in Australia was in 1979, when they triumphed in Brisbane and Sydney to sweep the series.



15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lukhan Tui, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Ned Hanigan, 21 Pete Samu, 22 Joe Powell, 23 Reece Hodge


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Peter O'Mahony (captain), 6 CJ Stander, 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Sean Cronin, 1 Jack McGrath

Substitutes: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Cian Healy, 18 John Ryan, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ross Byrne, 23 Jordan Larmour


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.