Rugby Championship

Etzebeth relaxed ahead of 50th Test

2016-09-08 13:20
Eben Etzebeth (Gallo)

Cape Town - Eben Etzebeth will become the youngest South African to reach 50 Test caps when the Springboks take on the Wallabies in Brisbane on Saturday. 

Etzebeth, 24, made his Test debut at the age of 20 against England in Durban in 2012 and has since established himself as the Springboks' first-choice No 4.

He becomes the 32nd Springbok to reach the milestone. 

Saturday's clash is massive for the Boks, who have lost two of their five matches under new coach Allister Coetzee. 

But Etzebeth, who will play in his 27th consecutive Test, was as cool as ever as he discussed his milestone and the task awaiting the Boks.

"It's nice to have that record now, but I just try to take it game by game," Etzebeth said.

"I'm enjoying myself. I started playing rugby at six years old. I just enjoy the game. For me, it’s more of a hobby than a profession.

"I’m here in Australia among some friends and I also enjoy my time away from rugby so it’s nice for me.

"Wearing the green and gold jersey is a massive thing for me and for every South African, so that just motivates me."

Etzebeth credited his lock partners, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Lood de Jager, for the work they had put in over the past few months in making the Boks lineout a success. 

"They've really out in a massive effort there," Etzebeth said. 

"But also to our forwards coach, Johan van Graan. It's taken buy-in from the whole team."

Australia, meanwhile, are under pressure themselves, having lost their last six Test matches. 

Kick-off on Saturday is at 12:05. 



15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Bernard Foley, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dean Mumm, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes (from): 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rory Arnold, 20 Lopeti Timani, 21 Sean McMahon, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Tevita Kuridrani, 24 Drew Mitchell

South Africa

15 Johan Goosen, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Jaco Kriel, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Lionel Mapoe


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Saturday, 29 September 2018
South Africa v Australia, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 17:05
Sunday, 30 September 2018
Argentina v New Zealand, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 00:40
Saturday, 06 October 2018
South Africa v New Zealand, Loftus Versfeld 17:05
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Following the win over the All Blacks in Wellington, Springbok supporters will be counting down the days until the return fixture at Loftus on October 6. How do you see that match ending?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.