Rugby Championship

Dark day as Boks humiliated by All Blacks

2017-09-16 11:24
All Blacks v Springboks (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The All Blacks bounced back to their awesome best in humiliating the Springboks in record fashion in their Rugby Championship clash in Albany on Saturday.

As it happened: All Blacks v Springboks

Well below their world champion best by their own admission in recent weeks, the All Blacks won 57-0 after leading 31-0 at half-time.

The All Blacks scored eight unanswered tries by wings Nehe Milner-Skudder (2) and Rieko Ioane, lock Brodie Retallick and replacements - flank Scott Barrett, prop Ofa Tu'ungafasi, flyhalf Lima Sopoaga and Codie Taylor.

Flyhalf Beauden Barrett added a penalty and seven conversions.

The Springboks, who were previously unbeaten in 2017, could not trouble the scoreboard.

The match, the 94th clash between the two nations, was one to forget for the South Africans in every respect and saw last year's record margin of defeat in Durban - 57-15 - well and truly smashed.

The All Blacks picked up a full-house of five points for their victory to all-but wrap up the Rugby Championship title for the year, while the Springboks head back to South Africa empty-handed.

The All Blacks hold an eight-point lead atop the standings and will clinch the trophy for a 15th time with victory over Argentina in Buenos Aires in a fortnight.

The Springboks will look to regroup before facing the Wallabies in Bloemfontein on September 30.


New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire; 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Kane Hames

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Anton Lienert-Brown

South Africa

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Raymond Rhule, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Uzair Cassiem, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 18 August 2018
Australia v New Zealand, ANZ Stadium 12:05
South Africa v Argentina, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:05
Saturday, 25 August 2018
New Zealand v Australia, Eden Park 09:35
Argentina v South Africa, Estadio Malvinas 21:10
Saturday, 08 September 2018
New Zealand v Argentina, Trafalgar Park 09:35
Australia v South Africa, Suncorp Stadium 12:05
Team P W PTS

Who will emerge victorious in this year's Rugby Championship?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season has wrapped up. For all the season highlights - and lowlights - be sure to visit Sport24!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.