Rugby Championship

Boks to beat Wallabies by 7 - bookies

2017-09-29 10:29
Allister Coetzee (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks will have enough in their armoury to overcome the Wallabies in Bloemfontein on Saturday, local bookmakers believe.

The Springboks head into the match on the back of a record 57-0 loss to New Zealand in Albany, while the Wallabies will be confident following a 45-20 win over Argentina in Canberra a fortnight ago.

The teams drew 23-all in Perth earlier in the competition, but home ground advantage may favour South Africa on Saturday.

Local bookmakers, have predicted a 7-point victory for Allister Coetzee’s Springboks.

The Springboks will also be boosted by their proud record against Australia on the highveld, having lost only once in the last 54 years.

However, that defeat did come in Bloemfontein in 2010 when a late Kurtley Beale penalty helped Australia to a 41-39 win.

Before that, Australia's last win on the highveld was back in 1963 when they won 11-9 at Ellis Park in Johannesburg.

Overall, the Springboks boast a 46-36 win-loss record against the Wallabies, including two draws.

In matches played in South Africa, the Boks have won 34 and lost 10.

Kick-off for Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 17:05.

Meanwhile, in the weekend's other Rugby Championship clash, the All Blacks are 22-point favourites to beat Argentina in Buenos Aires.

Kick-off is at 00:40 on Sunday (SA time).


South Africa

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Uzair Cassiem, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6, Francois Louw, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende


15 Israel Folau, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sean McMahon, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes (from): 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Lukhan Tui, 21 Ned Hanigan, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Samu Kerevi, 24 Henry Speight

Read more on:    springboks  |  wallabies  |  rugby championship  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Your thoughts on the booing and singing during the All Blacks' haka prior to Tests?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.