Rugby Championship

Bok fans: It won't be 57-0, but ...

2017-10-07 11:30
Allister Coetzee (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Springbok supporters are predicting another defeat for the national team to rivals New Zealand on Saturday, BUT not by the embarrassing 57-point margin suffered three weekends ago.

CLICK: To support South Africa's Rugby World Cup 2023 bid

On that fateful night in Albany on September 16 the world champion All Blacks ran riot, scoring eight tries in condemning the Boks to their worst Test defeat - ever.

Fast-forward 21 days and not much has changed to suggest the Boks can turn around their fortunes at Newlands on Saturday.

However, Sport24's readers are willing to give Allister Coetzee's team the benefit of the doubt that they won't enter the record books again this weekend.

In a poll on the Sport24 website asking readers what they thought would happen this weekend, some 60% of the nearly 8 000 respondents went for the "It won't be a 57-point defeat, but no chance the Springboks win" option.

Next most popular was the "It could well be as bad as 57-0 again!" option with 26%, while 8% are proud Bok supporters and voted for "Mark my words the Boks will win at Newlands!".

The remaining 6% are also in the Bok camp, clicking on the "It will be close! Boks to lose by 7 or fewer..." button.

For interest's sake, leading SA bookies Sportingbet have the All Blacks, who have already clinched this year's Rugby Championship title, to win by 17 points.

Kick-off is at 17:05.


South Africa

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Francois Louw, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6, Siya Kolisi, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Kane Hames

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 David Havili


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Saturday, 20 July 2019
South Africa v Australia, Emirates Airline Park 18:05
Saturday, 27 July 2019
New Zealand v South Africa, Westpac Stadium 10:35
Saturday, 10 August 2019
Argentina v South Africa, Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena 22:40

Your thoughts on the booing and singing during the All Blacks' haka prior to Tests?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.