Rugby Championship

All Blacks to smash Boks by 19 - bookies

2017-09-15 08:00
Eben Etzebeth (Gallo)

Cape Town - New Zealand will crush South Africa in Saturday’s Rugby Championship encounter in Albany, if local bookmakers are to be believed.

The All Blacks are three points clear of the Springboks at the top of the Rugby Championship log, courtesy of three straight wins.

The Boks started their campaign with back-to-back wins over Argentina, but last weekend’s 23-all draw with Australia in Perth saw them relinquish top spot in the standings.

And according to local bookmakers, Sportingbet, the Kiwis will cruise to victory by a 19-point margin this weekend.

Overall, the countries have played in 93 Tests, with New Zealand winning 55 to South Africa’s 35, with three games ending in draws.

ALSO READ: Boks' recent record v All Blacks is pretty bleak!

The Springboks have also lost nine of their last 10 Tests against the All Blacks and their last win in New Zealand was in 2009, when Peter de Villiers’ side won 32-29 in Hamilton.

Last year, the Boks suffered humiliating defeats in Christchurch (41-13) and Durban (57-15) in what was a horror first season in charge for Allister Coetzee.

Saturday’s Test in Albany is scheduled for 09:35 (SA time).


New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire; 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Kane Hames

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Anton Lienert-Brown

South Africa

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Raymond Rhule, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Uzair Cassiem, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Read more on:    springboks  |  all blacks  |  rugby championship  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights


Your thoughts on the booing and singing during the All Blacks' haka prior to Tests?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.