Rugby Championship

All Blacks release 9 back to provinces

2017-08-28 13:41
Nehe Milner-Skudder (Getty)

Cape Town - The All Blacks have released nine players from their squad to play for the provinces in the Mitre 10 Cup this week.

Auckland loose forward Akira Ioane will be free to feature against Waikato at Eden Park on Wednesday.

Bay of Plenty hooker Nathan Harris may get a run on against a Wellington side who may field forwards Vaea Fifita and Jeffery Toomaga-Allen in Rotorua on Thursday. 

Meanwhile, centre Ngani Laumape and utility back Nehe Milner-Skudder could vastly improve Manawatu for Saturday's clash with Otago in Dunedin.

Taranaki wing Waisake Naholo is also set to feature in his province's clash with Counties Manukau in New Plymouth on Saturday.

Scrumhalf Tawera Kerr-Barlow and utility back David Havili were All Blacks squad members but may now line-up against each other for Waikato and Tasman respectively when the sides meet in Hamilton on Sunday.

Read more on:    all blacks  |  rugby championship  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


The Springboks' 25-24 defeat to the All Blacks at Newlands was ...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.