Rugby Championship

Wallabies stun Boks in Brisbane

2015-07-18 14:04
Handre Pollard (Gallo)

Brisbane - The Wallabies have beaten the Springboks 24-20 in their first match of the Rugby Championship in Brisbane on Saturday.

As it happened: Wallabies 24 Springboks 20

Tevita Kuridrani scored a last minute try to give Australia a dramatic victory over South Africa.

The centre crashed over the line in a scrum of bodies after the hooter had sounded and the television match official adjudged he had grounded the ball.

The Springboks had looked like securing a victory on the back of a brilliant defensive effort and tries from lock Eben Etzebeth debutant centre Jesse Kriel as well as 10 points from the boot of Handre Pollard.

Australia stayed in the contest with a first half try from wing Adam Ashley-Cooper and flank Michael Hooper got them within sight of victory with another six minutes from time.


Australia 24 (Adam Ashley-Cooper, Michael Hooper, Tevita Kuridrani tries; Quade Cooper 2, Matt Giteau conversions, Cooper penalty)

South Africa 20 (Eben Etzebeth, Jesse Kriel tries; Handre Pollard 2 conversions, 2 penalties)


Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (c), 1 James Slipper

Substitutes : 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 James Horwill, 20 David Pocock, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Drew Mitchell

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes :16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Teboho Mohoje, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.