Rugby Championship

Wallabies aim to build on Boks win

2015-07-24 10:23
Michael Cheika (Gallo)

Mendoza - Australia hope to build on the momentum created by a dramatic triumph over South Africa when they meet Argentina in Mendoza on Saturday in a Rugby Championship second-round Test.

A try by centre Tevita Kundrani after the siren signalling full-time sounded earned the Wallabies a 24-20 win against the Springboks in Brisbane last Saturday.

Victory for an Australian side that trailed by 13 points during the second half came a day after title-holders New Zealand overcame Argentina 39-18 in Christchurch in the other first-round game.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made seven changes - three forced by injuries - for the match at the 40 000-seat Estadio Malvinas Argentinas in the western city.

Injured centre Matt Giteau, wing Rob Horne and scrumhalf Will Genia are replaced by Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane and Nick Phipps respectively.

An additional backline change sees Bernard Foley recalled to the starting line-up at flyhalf in place of Quade Cooper.

In the pack, a good showing by tighthead prop Greg Holmes when he came on as a replacement against South Africa earns him a start with Sekope Kepu dropping to the bench.

David Pocock takes over from fellow flank Michael Hooper and Ben McCalman has been picked at No 8 ahead of Scott Higginbotham.

Apart from the injury-induced changes, some are rotational and others form related with Higginbotham failing to replicate last weekend many outstanding Super 15 displays.

"We are fortunate with the level of depth in the squad," said Cheika, who steered the Waratahs to the 2014 Super 15 title.

"All those promoted to the starting line-up against the Pumas are there on merit and have opportunities to build on what we achieved last weekend.

"We have fine playmakers in Bernard (Foley) and Quade (Cooper) and both can make an enormous impact."

Cooper is among the eight replacements. Another substitute, utility back Kurtley Beale, will win his 50th cap if he comes on.

Cheika believes it will take a 23-man effort to avenge a 21-17 loss to Argentina last season in Mendoza after the visitors built an early 14-point advantage.

"Argentina will provide a physical challenge and our reserves have significant roles to play.

"The bench got us home against the Springboks last weekend and I will be looking for an even greater impact from our replacements this Saturday," stressed Cheika.

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has also made seven changes after a mixed outing against world champions New Zealand.

He will have been encouraged by the pack power that created two driving-maul tries for hooker and skipper Agustin Creevy, but leading 2014 Rugby Championship points scorer Nicolas Sanchez flopped at flyhalf.

Sanchez gets a chance to redeem himself against Australia and Santiago Cordero, switched from left-wing to full-back, is the only other back to survive.

Out go injured fullback Joaquin Tuculet, right wing Horacio Agulla, centres Marcelo Bosch and Jeronimo de la Fuente, and scrumhalf Tomas Cubelli.

And in come wingers Gonzalo Camacho and Juan Imhoff, centres Matias Moroni and Juan Pablo Socino and scrum-half Martin Landajo.

Forward changes see lock Tomas Lavanini and flank Javier Ortega Desio replace Guido Petti Pagadizabal and Juan Manuel Leguizamon.

Tradition is against the Pumas as they have not achieved successive victories against the Wallabies since their first meeting 36 years ago.



15 Santiago Cordero, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustin Creevy (captain), 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Matias Diaz, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino


15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 James Slipper

Substitutes: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Dean Mumm, 20 Michael Hooper, 21 Nic White, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Kurtley Beale


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.