Rugby Championship

Seven changes for Wallabies

2015-07-23 07:04
David Pocock (Getty Images)

Sydney - The Wallabies made seven changes to their starting line-up on Thursday for the Rugby Championship Test against Argentina in Mendoza this weekend, with Michael Hooper and Quade Cooper among the casualties.

Among the forwards, Reds veteran prop Greg Holmes will start for the first time since 2007, while Force stalwart Ben McCalman returns at No 8 and David Pocock comes in at openside flank, with former captain Hooper on the bench.

In the backs, Waratahs scrumhalf Nick Phipps and Brumbies centre Matt Toomua replace injured pair Will Genia and Matt Giteau, while Joe Tomane takes over from Rob Horne on the wing.

Cooper makes way for Waratahs pivot Bernard Foley as head coach Michael Cheika gives key players the chance to press their claims to be in the starting team for the Bledisloe Cup tie against New Zealand in Sydney next month.

"We are fortunate with the level of depth in the squad to be able to cover for the injuries we sustained last week against the Springboks," Cheika said, referring to the last-gasp 24-20 win in Brisbane.

"They all deserve their start against the Pumas and they now have an opportunity to build on the performance last week and stake their claims.

"We have two fine playmakers in Quade and Bernard. Both players can make an enormous impact on our team."

Saturday's Test will also be an important milestone for Kurtley Beale, who is set to earn his 50th Test cap, off the reserves bench, after recovering from a quad strain that kept him out of the Super Rugby finals series.

"We know Argentina will provide a physical challenge in this match, and our reserves will have a significant role to play," Cheika said.

"Last week they (the bench) got us home against the Springboks, and I will be looking forward to an even a greater impact from our players entering game this weekend."

A Wallabies victory would see them retain the Puma Trophy, which has been in Australia's hands since it was first awarded in 2000.





15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 James Slipper

Substitutes: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Dean Mumm, 20 Michael Hooper, 21 Nic White, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Kurtley Beale


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.