Rugby Championship

Rugby Championship KO times released

2015-05-04 15:47
Richie McCaw (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Southern Hemisphere's pre-eminent international competition gets underway on Friday, July 17 when the three-time winners of The Rugby Championship, the All Blacks, host Argentina in Christchurch while the Wallabies and Springboks lock horns in Brisbane the following night.

The condensed three-round championship sees teams face each other once, with a champion to be crowned on August 8, before a stand-alone round serves as final preparation for September's much-anticipated Rugby World Cup.

The full draw, including venues and kick-off times is now available with the exception of the Argentina v South Africa clash on August 15 which will take place in Buenos Aires at a stadium to be confirmed by Unión Argentina de Rugby in the coming weeks.

The first match - a Friday night battle between New Zealand and Argentina - will serve as AMI Stadium's debut match in The Rugby Championship, although the temporary Addington, Christchurch venue has previously hosted the All Blacks on two prior occasions (a 22-19 victory over Ireland in 2012 and a 30-0 whitewash of France in 2013).

Brisbane meanwhile has proven a happy hunting ground for Australia with the Wallabies beating the Springboks on seven of eight occasions at Suncorp Stadium with their only blemish being a 38-12 defeat to the South Africans in September 2013.

The Rugby Championship commences a fortnight after the Super Rugby Final on July 4 with the last round of matches concluding on August 15, giving teams just over a month before launching their Rugby World Cup campaigns.

The 2015 Rugby Championship schedule (All times CAT):

Round 1:
Friday, July 17: New Zealand v Argentina – AMI Stadium, Christchurch - 09:35
Saturday, July 18: Australia v South Africa – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane - 12:05

Round 2:
Saturday, July 25: South Africa v New Zealand – Ellis Park, Johannesburg - 17:05
Sunday, July 26: Argentina v Australia – Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza - 00:40

Round 3:
Saturday, August 8: Australia v New Zealand – ANZ Stadium, Sydney - 12:05
Saturday, August 8: South Africa v Argentina – Kings Park, Durban - 17:05

Additional week (not for competition points):
Saturday, August 15: New Zealand v Australia – Eden Park, Auckland - 09:35
Saturday, August 15: Argentina v South Africa – Venue TBC, Buenos Aires - TBC


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Saturday, 18 August 2018
South Africa v Argentina, Durban 00:00
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Argentina v South Africa, TBA 00:00
Saturday, 08 September 2018
Australia v South Africa, Brisbane 00:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The Springboks' 25-24 defeat to the All Blacks at Newlands was ...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.