Rugby Championship

Pumas change for Perth Test

2013-09-10 14:58
Santiago Phelan (File)

Kevin Anderson visits Boks

2013-09-10 13:53

Watch SA's top tennis player Kevin Anderson's visit to the Bok camp in Auckland.

Sydney - Argentina head coach Santiago Phelan on Tuesday made five changes from the team that lost to the All Blacks for the Rugby Championship Test against Australia in Perth on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 12:05 SA time.

Tomas Cubelli will start at scrumhalf with Martin Landajo dropping to the bench, while Phelan has made a double change in the midfield with veteran Felipe Contepomi to play in what will be his 85th Test match at inside centre, with London Welsh-based Gonzalo Tiesi at outside centre.

In another change in the backline, Juan Imhoff was restored to the starting line-up in the place of the injured Gonzalo Camacho, who returned to England on Tuesday with a dislocated shoulder.

The forward pack, impressive in last Saturday's 28-13 loss to the All Blacks in Hamilton, features one change with Agustin Creevy named as hooker and Eusebio Guinazu relegated to the reserves.

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe continues as Pumas captain in his 54th Test match, and the English Premiership and Heineken Cup winner will be joined by Juan Manuel Leguizamon playing in his 50th Test match.

The Pumas have won just one Test away from home against the Wallabies, in 1983 in Ballymore, scoring 18-3. This weekend will be their 11th encounter in Australia.

The Wallabies have won just one of their six Tests this season following Saturday's record 38-12 mauling by the Springboks in Brisbane.

Australia must regroup quickly against Argentina to avoid a fifth straight loss and a run not seen since Eddie Jones' ill-fated final year in charge in 2005.

Ewen McKenzie has now lost all three internationals since taking over as coach from Robbie Deans in July, with the Wallabies conceding a total of 12 tries in two losses to the All Blacks and one to the Springboks.

Both the Wallabies and Argentina have yet to win in this year's four-nation series, although the Pumas have a bonus point to relegate Australia to last spot at the halfway stage of the tournament.

Australia have not lost to the Pumas since 1997 in Buenos Aires.





15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12  Felipe Contepomi, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (captain), 5 Julio Farias Cabello, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Eusebio Guinazu, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Benjamin Macome, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Fernandez, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.