Rugby Championship

Mighty All Blacks thrash Wallabies

2014-08-23 11:20
Richie McCaw (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - The All Blacks have laid down a frightening marker for the remainder of the Rugby Championship by thrashing the Wallabies in Auckland.

As it happened: All Blacks v Wallabies

WATCH: Springboks accept Joost's Ice Bucket Challenge!

The All Blacks won 51-20 after leading 23-6 at half-time and retained the Bledisloe Cup.

The All Blacks scored six tries through wing Julian Savea, No 8 Kieran Read, flank Richie McCaw (2), replacement loose forward Steven Luatua and a penalty try. Flyhalf Aaron Cruden was on target with five conversions as well as three penalties for a personal haul of 19 points. Scrumhalf Aaron Smith added a conversion.

The Wallabies replied with tries by fullback Israel Folau and flank Michael Hooper. Flyhalf Kurtley Beale added both conversions as well as two penalties.

The All Blacks picked up a full house of five points for their victory to move to the top of the Rugby Championship standings.

The Wallabies left empty-handed, and remain on two log points thanks to the 12-all draw against the All Blacks in Sydney last weekend.

The All Blacks' next match will be against Argentina at McLean Park in Napier on Saturday, September 6 (09:35 SA time), while the Wallabies host the Springboks in Perth later that same day (12:05 SA time).


New Zealand

15 Ben Smith, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Reid, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Wyatt Crockett

Substitutes: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Sam Cane, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa


15 Israel Folau, 14 Pat McCabe, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nic White, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 James Slipper

Substitutes: 16 James Hanson, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Bernard Foley, 23 Tevita Kuridrani


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The Springboks' 25-24 defeat to the All Blacks at Newlands was ...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.