Rugby Championship

Lobbe back to lead Pumas

2013-09-03 09:30
Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (AFP)

Hamilton - Inspirational Argentina captain Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe has been cleared to play against the All Blacks on Saturday in one of four changes to Los Pumas for the third-round Rugby Championship Test.

Lobbe, who had been sidelined by a calf injury which kept him out of the back-to-back losses to South Africa in the first two rounds, takes over the captaincy to the clear relief of his team.

"He's a great player," scrumhalf Martin Landajo said of the Toulon-based loose forward.

"He's a leader for us. It's important for us and the younger players. When he's on the field it's much easier for us."

Lobbe will start on the side of the scrum. Juan Manuel Leguizamon will move to the back row in place of Leonardo Senatore, who is serving a nine-week suspension for biting in last week's 17-22 loss to the Springboks in Mendoza.

Flank Pablo Matera, who was cleared of an eye-gouging charge in the same Test, retains his place in the pack.

The other changes to Argentina see Manuel Carizza start at lock in place of Mariano Galarzo and Santiago Fernandez come in for centre Felipe Contepomi.

The 83-Test veteran Contepomi, who captained Argentina in Lobbe's absence, has been named on the bench.

Argentina, who now have former All Blacks World Cup-winning coach Graham Henry as their technical director, have never beaten New Zealand in 16 Tests.

They have lost 15 times and their best result, a 21-all draw, was 28 years ago.

Kick-off at Waikato Stadium is at 09:35 (SA time) on Saturday.


New Zealand:



15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 5 Julio Farias Cabello, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Marcos Ayerza.

Substitutes: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Benjamin Macome, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Felipe Contepomi, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino.

Read more on:    rugby championship  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.


Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.