Rugby Championship

Hooper, Pocock start against All Blacks

2015-08-06 07:07
Michael Hooper (Gallo Images)

Sydney - Loose forwards Michael Hooper and David Pocock have both been named in Australia's starting line-up for the Rugby Championship decider against New Zealand here on Saturday.

It will be the first time the pair will have started a Test together with Wallabies coach Michael Cheika assembling a mobile pack, indicating an intention to play a high-paced game.

Hooper has won the right to the No 7 jersey with Pocock at No 8.

"Australian rugby is very fortunate to have some quality flankers competing for the number seven jumper," Cheika said when announcing the line-up on Thursday.

"Both players have been in outstanding form for club and country this season and have shown their class in sharing the spot in the first two matches.

"They now have an opportunity to start a Test together which they are very excited about."

Cheika has shaken up his forward pack for the final-round clash between the only two unbeaten sides in the competition that also includes South Africa and Argentina.

James Horwill, Dean Mumm and Scott Sio have been promoted to the starting fifteen with Mumm's inclusion forcing the relegation of Will Skelton to the bench for the first time this season.

In the backs, Bernard Foley and Nick Phipps remain the preferred halves pairing while Matt Giteau returns from injury to replace Matt Toomua in a centres partnership with Tevita Kuridrani.

Drew Mitchell, Adam Ashley-Cooper and Israel Folau form a potent back three.

Among the replacements, Kurtley Beale, Toomua and Nic White provide backline cover with Quade Cooper missing out.



15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 James Horwill, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, (captain), 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Nic White, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Kurtley Beale

New Zealand:

15 Ben Smith, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Luke Romano, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Tony Woodcock.

Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Ben Franks , 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Sam Whitelock, 20 Sam Cane, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.