Rugby Championship

Boks can win World Cup - Hourcade

2015-08-07 10:28
Handre Pollard (Gallo Images)

Durban - Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade believes the Springboks will be strong contenders to win the Rugby World Cup this year.

The Pumas are in Durban to tackle the Boks on Saturday in the final round of Rugby Championship fixtures this season, and Hourcade has been impressed by what he has seen from Heyneke Meyer’s men so far.

“They are a great candidate for the World Cup. They are going to arrive in a very good shape and with a team that has played a lot together,” said Hourcade.

“As a matter of fact they lost their last two games in the final moments, and they probably deserved a win in both of those matches even though they didn’t get it.”

Hourcade had special praise for Bok flyhalf Handre Pollard.

“He’s a great player and he’s had a very good season this year in Super Rugby and now he’s in a good condition in the Springbok team,” said the Pumas coach.

“He’s an excellent player and he’s in a good moment.”

But Argentina have a big name of their own pulling the strings at flyhalf in the form of Juan Martin Hernandez. The 32-year-old played for the Sharks in Durban in 2009, and Hourcade considers himself lucky to have a player of Hernandez’s ability.

“Juan Martin is a great player. He’s a world class player. His natural position is 10 but I also like him playing at 12,” said Hourcade.

Kick-off on Saturday is at 17:05.


South Africa:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jesse Kriel, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


15-Joaquín Tuculet, 14-Horacio Agulla, 13-Marcelo Bosch, 12-Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11-Juan Imhoff, 10-Juan Martín Hernández, 9-Tomas Cubelli, 8-Leonardo Senatore, 7-Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6-Pablo Matera, 5-Tomás Lavanini, 4-Guido Petti Pagadizaba, 3-Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2-Agustín Creevy (captain), 1-Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16-Julián Montoya, 17-Lucas Noguera, 18-Matías Díaz, 19-Matías Alemanno, 20-Tomás Lezana, 21-Martín Landajo, 22-Santiago González Iglesias, 23-Lucas González Amorosino


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.