Rugby Championship

Argentina name side to face Boks

2015-08-06 18:01
Daniel Hourcade (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Argentina have named their side to face the Springboks in their Rugby Championship clash at King's Park in Durban on Saturday.

Coach Daniel Hourcade made 11 changes to the match day squad that lost to the Wallabies in Mendoza two weekends ago.

Former Sharks flyhalf Juan Martin Hernandez returns to Durban and will provide experience and an educated boot for the Pumas.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer had said earlier in the week that he expects a far more expansive approach from an Argentina side that is no longer simply about utilising their strong pack, and Hourcade agreed.

"Yes, that is the idea of our game plan," said the Pumas coach. 

"This is what we are going to try even though sometimes the opposite side that we've had in this tournament doesn't allow us to play like that. But that is what we want to try and do."

The Pumas have never beaten the Boks, and Hourcade said that doing so on Saturday would be difficult. 

"We always play to win the game but we also know that this is our third game of the year," said Hourcade. 

"We have had a big rotation between the games. Even though we are improving game by game we are looking after a lot of players, but hopefully we will get it right on Saturday.

"They (Springboks) are a great team. They are in another part of their season. They arrive here after playing Super Rugby and the principle difference with us is that we have had many players come from Europe and they are in their pre-season."

Kick-off is at 17:05.


South Africa:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jesse Kriel, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


15-Joaquín Tuculet, 14-Horacio Agulla, 13-Marcelo Bosch, 12-Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11-Juan Imhoff, 10-Juan Martín Hernández, 9-Tomas Cubelli, 8-Leonardo Senatore, 7-Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6-Pablo Matera, 5-Tomás Lavanini, 4-Guido Petti Pagadizaba, 3-Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2-Agustín Creevy (captain), 1-Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16-Julián Montoya, 17-Lucas Noguera, 18-Matías Díaz, 19-Matías Alemanno, 20-Tomás Lezana, 21-Martín Landajo, 22-Santiago González Iglesias, 23-Lucas González Amorosino

Read more on:    argentina  |  springboks  |  rugby championship  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.