Rugby Championship

Argentina dump 8 for Springbok Test

2015-08-03 16:38
Daniel Hourcade (Getty Images)

Johannesburg - Argentina have dropped eight starters from the recent hammering by Australia for their Rugby Championship Test against South Africa in Durban on Saturday.

Backs dropped by coach Daniel Hourcade include fullback Santiago Cordero, right wing Gonzalo Camacho, outside centre Matias Moroni and flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez.

The axed forwards are lock Manuel Carizza and loose trio Javier Ortega Desio, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe and No 8 Facundo Isa.

A ninth change is injury induced.

Tighthead prop Ramiro Herrera was hurt during the 34-9 loss to the Wallabies in Mendoza nine days ago and his knee surgery will sideline him for four to six weeks.

Backline survivors from the Mendoza mauling are inside centre Juan Pablo Socino, left wing Juan Imhoff and scrumhalf Martin Landajo.

Hooker and skipper Agustin Creevy, loosehead prop Marcos Ayerza and lock Tomas Lavanini remain among the eight who started against Australia.

"The objectives for the match with South Africa are the same as for those against New Zealand and Australia," explained Hourcade.

"We hope to gradually improve our game, develop greater rhythm, and assess players ahead of the World Cup.

"South Africa are a great team who could have won both matches they lost," he said, referring to narrow Springbok defeats away to Australia and at home to New Zealand.

While Hourcade said before the Rugby Championship that he would rotate players ahead of the September 18-October 31 World Cup in England, some changes may be form-related.

Sanchez, leading points scorer last season with 52 in the Rugby Championship, has given two poor performances.

Against Australia, the 26-year-old playmaker twice ignored a ball-in-hand plan to aimlessly boot kicks up field that triggered try-scoring counter-attacks.

Veteran utility back Juan Martin Hernandez has been called up for the first time in this Championship and will be a contender to replace Sanchez.

Fit-again Joaquin Tuculet is a natural choice to replace Cordero, having worn the No 15 shirt in a 39-18 opening-round defeat in New Zealand.

Experienced centre Marcelo Bosch is another candidate to start against the Springboks at Kings Park stadium having faced the All Blacks, but not the Wallabies.

Loose forward Juan Manuel Leguizamon also boasts great Test experience and is likely to be included in a new back row.

South Africa have won 18 Tests against Argentina and drawn the other since they first met in 1993, scoring 728 points and conceding 361.

The widest victory margin was 73-13 in Soweto two years ago and the narrowest 37-33 in 2000 in Buenos Aires.

Argentina's 26-man squad for their final Rugby Championship Test against South Africa at Kings Park stadium in Durban Saturday, announced by coach Daniel Hourcade:

Forwards (15)

Matias Allemanco, Marcos Ayerza, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Agustin Creevy (capt), Matias Diaz, Tomas Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Tomas Lezana, Benjamin Macome, Pablo Matera, Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Juan Pablo Orlandi, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Leonardo Senatore

Backs (11)

Horacio Agulla, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Marcelo Bosch, Tomas Cubelli, Jeronimo De la Fuente, Juan Martin Hernandez, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Imhoff, Martin Landajo, Juan Pablo Socino, Joaquin Tuculet


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.