Rugby Championship

ABs zero in on record Test win

2014-08-14 08:34
Richie McCaw and Steve Hansen (Getty Images)

Sydney - World champions New Zealand are chasing a record-breaking 18th consecutive win while Australia wants to end their Bledisloe Cup misery in Saturday's Rugby Championship Test in Sydney.

The New Zealanders, following a 36-13 victory over England in their last match, are equal with the 17-Test winning runs of the 1965-69 All Blacks and 1997-98 Springboks.

The all-conquering Kiwis have not tasted defeat since going down to England at Twickenham in December 2012, and have not lost a match in the two four-nation Rugby Championship seasons, which also includes South Africa and Argentina.

What adds spice to this weekend's tournament kick-off is that the Wallabies are sensing their time has come after 11 years without the Bledisloe Cup, a symbol of trans-Tasman supremacy.

The Waratahs have given Wallaby supporters optimism with their thrilling 33-32 victory over New Zealand champions Crusaders in this month's Super Rugby final.

The Australians, under coach Ewen McKenzie, have also won their last seven Tests, including sweeping their three-Test series against France in June.

It all adds to an intriguing scenario for the opening match of the Rugby Championship, a year out from the World Cup in England.

"The Bledisloe's the biggest cup we play for outside the World Cup, so winning this first one is important to give you a good start towards holding it," All Blacks coach Steve Hansen said Thursday.

"We're not approaching this Test any differently because it's 18, it's just about winning."

McKenzie said there was every reason for Australia to believe that a slice of history could be within their reach against the world champions.

"There's no mortgage on these sorts of things," he said.

"They've obviously dominated for a period of time and they're not going to hand it over. We've got to go out there and win it. We've got to get everything right."

McKenzie, who took over from Robbie Deans in the wake of Australia's home series loss to the British and Irish Lions last year, has made some big selection calls for the crunch game on Saturday.

He preferred the creative Kurtley Beale at fly-half to his Waratahs team-mate Bernard Foley, and left out former Wallabies' skipper and lock James Horwill from his match-day 23-man squad.

"We've made what some people might consider bold selections. I think they're good selections for what we want to do," McKenzie said.

"Kurtley will bring some additional x-factor to our game. We feel that will suit our two-playmaker framework and ensure we have the right balance in those positions along with Matt Toomua.

"Against the All Blacks, you've got to go out there and have a crack ... we need to take a few risks."

Hansen has given the nod to Ben Smith as the All Blacks first-choice full-back ahead of World Cup winner Israel Dagg.

Dagg failed to even make the squad as Hansen stuck with the line-up that completed a 3-0 whitewash against England in June.

The run-on side features only two injury-related changes from the third England Test, with Wyatt Crockett in at loose-head prop for the sidelined Tony Woodcock and centre Conrad Smith returning from a hand injury to demote Malakai Fekitoa to the bench.

"While we have been very happy with Israel Dagg's performances at 15, Ben has come in and raised the bar to another level," Hansen said.

"The challenge for Israel now is to get his performances - when he gets the opportunity - to an even higher level.

"Australia are naturally going to play a fast game... we're anticipating with the side they've selected that Australia are going to take us on in the backs and run us around a bit, so we'll embrace that and play our own game.

"First and foremost we've got to go out and achieve some sort of domination so that we can control the game."



15 Israel Folau, 14 Pat McCabe, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nic White, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 James Slipper

Substitutes (one to be omitted): 16 James Hanson, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Scott Higginbotham, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Bernard Foley, 24 Tevita Kuridrani

New Zealand:

15 Ben Smith, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Wyatt Crockett

Substitutes: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Joe Moody, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Sam Cane, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 18 August 2018
South Africa v Argentina, Durban 00:00
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Argentina v South Africa, TBA 00:00
Saturday, 08 September 2018
Australia v South Africa, Brisbane 00:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The Springboks' 25-24 defeat to the All Blacks at Newlands was ...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.