Rugby Championship

10 players released from Bok squad

2018-09-18 10:42
Francois Louw
Francois Louw (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks have released eight players from their Rugby Championship squad that returned from New Zealand on Sunday for Currie Cup and provincial duty this weekend. 

In addition to the group of local players released to their provinces, two overseas-based players will also return to their clubs and are available for selection for this weekend’s matches.

They are fullback Willie le Roux (Wasps) and loose forward Francois Louw (Bath). 

Although the Blue Bulls have a bye in the Currie Cup, the Pretoria outfit will be in action on Saturday in a friendly against Namibia in Windhoek. 

The following eight players have been released to their provinces this weekend: 

Golden Lions

Ross Cronje 

Blue Bulls

Marco van Staden

Embrose Papier 


Thomas du Toit 

Western Province

Wilco Louw

Bongi Mbonambi

Sikhumbuzo Notshe

Damian Willemse

Read more on:    springboks  |  rugby championship  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.