Rebels name Super 15 squad

2011-11-01 09:03

Melbourne - Super Rugby’s 15th franchise has named their squad for next season, the first major team to announce their playing group ahead of the New Zealand franchises confirming their rosters on Wednesday.

Rebels coach Damien Hill takes over from Rugby World Cup-winning mentor Rod Macqueen, with the 1999 Webb Ellis Cup winner remaining with the club in a overall director-style role.

According to the website, the Rebels have an ethos where they are trying to develop Victorian bred rugby players, but they have also added to their marquee roster, signing key Wallaby backs James O’Connor and Kurtley Beale.

"Kurtley Beale and James O'Connor are two of the games most exciting young talents,” Hill said.

“Their decision to sign with the Rebels reaffirms that Melbourne and the club, has a Rugby Union programme that is attractive to players of this calibre.”

"Overall we are pleased with our list for 2012, we believe we have recruited well and have a solid platform to build on."

The Rebels claimed the wooden-spoon this season, but did win three matches.

They have already begun pre-season training, with most squad members bar their Wallaby contingent back with the team.

Melbourne Rebels 2012 Super Rugby squad:

Paul Alo-Emile, Kurtley Beale, Rodney Blake, Adam Byrnes, Alister Campbell, Danny Cipriani, Tom Chamberlain, Tim Davidson, Gareth Delve, Adam Freier, Mark Gerrard, Nic Henderson, James Hilgendorf, Julian Huxley, Mitch Inman, Lloyd Johansson, Luke Jones, James King, Richard Kingi, Michael Lipman, Lachlan Mitchell, Stirling Mortlock, James O'Connor, Nick Phipps, Hugh Pyle, Ged Robinson, Jarrod Saffy, Heath Tessmann, Cooper Vuna, Laurie Weeks


  • jase880 - 2011-11-01 10:38

    With Beale and O'Connor this could be an exciting team to watch next year.

      Denése - 2011-11-02 01:26

      My thoughts exactly!!!

  • pages:
  • 1