Pumas make five changes

2013-11-05 21:00
Daniel Hourcade (AFP)

London - Argentina have made five changes from the team crushed 54-17 by Australia in the Rugby Championship last month for their opening tour match against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

New coach Daniel Hourcade named a side on Tuesday with three changes in the backs and two in the forwards plus a positional switch with Julio Farias Cabello moving from lock to openside flanker.

Juan Manuel Leguizamon will lead the side from his regular number eight position with brilliant youngster Pablo Matera moving from openside to blindside flanker to stand in for injured Rugby Championship captain Juan Fernandez Lobbe.

Maximiliano Bustos comes into the front row for injured prop Juan Figallo while a last-minute change in the match squad means Eusebio Guinazu retains his place in the team as hooker because Agustin Creevy withdrew due to injury.

Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino comes into the team at fullback in place of the injured Juan Martin Hernandez and Santiago Fernandez at inside centre for Felipe Contepomi, who marked his international retirement in the October 5 match in Rosario.

Tomas Cubelli has been preferred to Martin Landajo at scrumhalf in a switch between two players who play their club rugby in the amateur Buenos Aires club championship.

Experienced centre Gonzalo Tiesi and uncapped teenage wing Santiago Cordero and young hooker Santiago Iglesias, both of whom were not in the Pumas squad during the Rugby Championship, have been brought on to the bench.

Hourcade took charge last week following the resignation of Santiago Phelan after Argentina's last place in the elite southern hemisphere Rugby Championship.

England, who beat Australia 20-13 last Saturday, won a two-Test series 2-0 in Argentina in June.

The Pumas have beaten England once at Twickenham, in 2006.

Argentina continue their tour against Wales in Cardiff on November 16 and Italy in Rome a week later.





15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon (captain), 7 Julio Farias Cabello, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Santiago Iglesias, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Benjamín Macome, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Gonzalo Tiesi, 23 Santiago Cordero

Read more on:    pumas  |  daniel hourcade  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.