Pumas add 6 for Springboks rematch

2015-08-10 21:57
Daniel Hourcade (AFP Photo)

Johannesburg - Argentina have retained the squad that stunned South Africa at the weekend except injured Jeronimo De la Fuente and added six players for a Test rematch in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

A rib injury rules centre De la Fuente out of a game that offers the Pumas a chance to prove that a historic 37-25 Rugby Championship triumph in Durban two days ago was not a fluke.

It was the first Argentine victory in 20 Tests against South Africa and their first away win in the southern hemisphere championship after 10 losses since debuting three seasons ago.

Argentina took 26 players to South Africa last week and coach Daniel Hourcade has expanded the squad to 31 for the rematch with the Springboks at the 50 000-capacity Estadio Jose Amalfitani.

The six additions are fullback Santiago Cordero, centre Matias Moroni, flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez and loose forwards Javier Ortega Desio, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe and Facundo Isa.

"While we are thrilled at our famous victory in Durban, the focus has already switched to the rematch," flank Pablo Matera said Monday before flying from Johannesburg to Buenos Aires.

"It is going to be extremely tough in Buenos Aires because the Springboks are hurting and they will throw everything at us."

Asked what was the secret behind the sensational success in Durban, Matera responded: "Self belief. We were convinced that we would win."

Defeat caused two-time world champions South Africa to drop three places on the official international rankings to fifth while Argentina remained eighth.

The Buenos Aires Test will be the last for Argentina and South Africa before the September 18 kick-off of the Rugby World Cup in England.

South Africa are in Pool B with Japan, Samoa, Scotland and the United States and Argentina are in Pool C with title-holders New Zealand, Georgia, Namibia and Tonga.


Forwards (18)

Matias Allemanco, Marcos Ayerza, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Agustin Creevy (capt), Javier Ortega Desio, Matias Diaz, Facundo Isa, Tomas Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Tomas Lezana, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Benjamin Macome, Pablo Matera, Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Juan Pablo Orlandi, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Leonardo Senatore

Backs (13)

Horacio Agulla, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Marcelo Bosch, Santiago Cordero, Tomas Cubelli, Juan Martin Hernandez, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Imhoff, Martin Landajo, Matias Moroni, Nicolas Sanchez, Juan Pablo Socino, Joaquin Tuculet

Coach: Daniel Hourcade

Read more on:    argentina  |  springboks  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.