Pretoria Police stun Durbell

2012-09-17 18:37

Rustenburg - Hosts Rustenburg Impala will face Blue Bulls champions Pretoria Police in a heavyweight northern-union semi-final at the SARU National Club Championships after both sides recorded impressive wins in Monday’s quarter-finals.

The other semi-final sees 2010 national club champions College Rovers face Border champions Old Selbornians in an all-East Coast affair.

Pretoria Police, the reigning Carlton Cup champions led by evergreen lock Nico Luus, stormed into the last four thanks to an impressive 36-25 win over one of the pre-tournament favourites, WP’s Durbanville-Bellville.

Impala, playing once again in front of a large home crowd, were made to work hard against Golden Lions champions Roodepoort in the day’s main game before running out 31-19 winners.

College Rovers were also made to sweat against EP’s Despatch, coming back from 30-28 down with six minutes to play to win 41-30, thanks to a late try from scrumhalf Shannon Rick and two penalties from replacement fullback Kobus de Kock.

And in the day’s first quarter-final, Border champions Old Selbornians caused a minor shock when they scored a late try to beat Falcons champions Brakpan 28-26. Old Boys’ hero was flyhalf Glen Warner, who kicked 20 points including a vital drop goal.

The country’s northern-union clubs continued their good form in the Plate, with Naka Bulls, Noordelikes, Welkom Rovers and Bloemfontein Police all winning through to Wednesday’s semi-finals.

Day 3 fixtures (Wednesday):

Cup semi-finals:

11:30 College Rovers v Old Selbornians 
16:00 Rustenburg Impala v Pretoria Police                           

Plate semi-finals:

13:00 Noordelikes v Bloemfontein Police             
14:30 Naka Bulls v Welkom Rovers

Day 4 fixtures (Friday 21 Sep):

Cup & Plate Finals (13:00, 15:00, live on SuperSport)

Day 2 results (Monday 17 Sep):

Cup quarter-finals:

Old Selbornians 28 – Try: Craig Shone. Conversion: Glen Warner. Penalties: Warner (5). Drop goals: Warner, Stuart Hudson.
Brakpan 26 – Tries: Franco Booysen, Ian Evans. Penalties: Charl Nieuwenhuis (5).

College Rovers 41 – Tries: Chris Jordaan, Shannon Rick (2), Kosie Haarhof. Conversions: Jors Dannhauser (3). Penalties: Dannhauser (2), Kobus de Kock (3).
Despatch 30 – Tries: Billy Mentoor, Monty Dumond, Baldwin McBean. Conversions: Dumond (3). Penalties: Dumond (2). Drop goal: Dumond.

Durbanville-Bellville 25 – Tries: Ian Coetzee, Morne Mennigke, Quinten Coetzer. Conversions: Coetzee (2). Penalties: Coetzee (2).
Pretoria Police 36 – Tries: Ruan van Loo, Heinrich Rademeyer, Pieter Strydom, Michael Nienaber (2). Conversions: Dillen Laubsher (4). Penalty: Laubsher.

Rustenburg Impala 31 – Tries: Morne Jooste, Nelis Nel, Jermaine Apollis. Conversions: Willie Kok (2). Penalties: Kok (4).
Roodepoort 19 – Try: Daniel Gibhard. Conversion: Llewellyn le Roux. Penalties: Le Roux (4).

Plate quarter-finals:

Naka Bulls 25 – Tries: F Nel, W Botes, I Erasmus, penalty try. Conversion: P Mulder. Penalty: R Boshoff.
Villagers Worcester 23 – Tries: David Wehr, John Arendse, Yazeed Johnson. Conversion: Emile Smith. Penalty: Godwann Damon. Drop goal: Johnson.

Blanco 22 – Tries: Hentzwill Pedro (3). Conversions: Alaine Jansen (2). Penalty: Jansen.
Welkom Rovers 37 – Tries: WP van Vuuren, Cobus Aucamp, Virgel Russell, Ossie Nortje, Johnnie Fourie. Conversions: Tiaan van Wyk (3). Penalties: Van Wyk (2).

Noordelikes 38 – Tries: Mynardt Smith (2), Zack Botha (2). Conversions: Zander Byleveldt (3). Penalties: (4).
Witrivier 30 – Tries: Johan Smit, Dewald vd Berg (2), Michael de Bruyn.

Bloemfontein Police 22 – Tries: Heino Shepperson, Stevie Meyer (2), Isak Job. Conversion: Job.
Kumba Iron Ore Sishen 17 – Tries: F Steyn, N Peens. Conversions: M Mapanga (2). Penalty: Mapanga.

Day 1 results:

Roodepoort 26
Naka Bulls 12                     

Jonsson College Rovers 61
Noordelikes 0                                   

Bloemfontein Police 33
Broubart Old Selbornians 43

Durbanville-Bellville 53
Blanco 20                                            

Pretoria Police 43
Welkom Rovers 12          

Kumba Iron Ore Sishen 0
Brakpan 28                                                         

White River 10
Despatch 72                                      

Rustenburg Impala 53
Villagers Worcester 21


  • dowwe.duane - 2012-09-17 20:25

    Pragtag! Go Bulls!! BWA HA HA HA WP

  • pages:
  • 1