Pollard up for prestigious award

2014-06-17 09:49
Handré Pollard (Gallo Images)
Auckland - The International Rugby Board (IRB) has confirmed a shortlist of four nominees for the IRB Junior Player of the Year 2014 Award, with the winner set to be announced following the JWC final at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday.

Finalists South Africa and England each have a player nominated in captain Handré Pollard and wing Nathan Earle respectively, with Ireland centre Garry Ringrose and New Zealand wing Tevita Li completing the quartet of players.

The management of the 12 teams involved in the IRB Junior World Championship in New Zealand voted on their top three players after each round with votes tallied to provide the shortlist of nominees.


Nathan Earle (England)
The wing announced himself on the Junior World Championship stage with a bang, scoring the first hat-trick of the tournament against Italy on day one, his pace and mazy running simply too much for the Italians to handle. The 19-year-old followed that up with another brace against Australia in their next match and, while he hasn’t crossed the whitewash since, his breaks have led to other tries to help England retain the hope of defending their title.

Garry Ringrose (Ireland)
With Irish rugby fans asking the question who will fill the No 13 jersey now that Brian O’Driscoll has retired, the answer could lie in 19-year-old Ringrose who has carried well and repeatedly got over the gain-line to help Ireland reach a first JWC semi-final. A lovely straight runner, Ringrose has scored three tries in the tournament, two in the decisive bonus point win over Wales and one in the semi-final loss to England. He is also an accomplished kicker as he proved with 11 points in the final pool victory over Fiji.

Handré Pollard (South Africa)
A player who already has a Junior World Championship winners’ medal to his name from South Africa’s success on home soil in 2012, Pollard now holds the responsibility of captaincy in what is his third experience of the tournament. With a maturity beyond his years, the Blue Bulls flyhalf is a calming influence on his team-mates but also a natural leader. In the semi-final he became both the leading point scorer at JWC 2014 and also in the competition’s history. Pollard’s performances in the tournament have led some to suggest him as a possible bolter for South Africa’s squad for RWC 2015.

Tevita Li (New Zealand)
The New Zealand wing only linked up with the Under-20 squad on the eve of the tournament due to his Super Rugby commitments with the Blues, but that experience has shone through in his performances. A wing blessed with pace and power, Li was one bright spark for New Zealand in their pool loss to South Africa with a hat-trick. The 19-year-old, who has scored five tries in the tournament, will hope to follow in the footsteps of former Under-20 wings Julian Savea and Charles Piutau by graduating to the All Blacks in the years ahead.

IRB chairperson, Bernard Lapasset, commented: “The IRB Junior World Championship is a finishing school for the future stars of world rugby and the character-building experiences learned on and off the field in New Zealand will serve the class of 2014 very well.

“Once again we have been treated to a wonderful tournament of great quality, excitement and competition and I am looking forward to seeing the young players who have proudly represented their countries step up and thrill fans watching future Rugby World Cups.

“It is always such a difficult task to select a shortlist from such talent, but the four players nominated for the prestigious IRB Junior Player of the Year thoroughly deserve their place, having been nominated by their peers and their opposition.

“We can now look forward to a mouth-watering climax to the IRB Junior World Championship and the crowning of the champions and our Player of the Year.”

Previous winners

2013 – IRB Junior Player of the Year: Sam Davies (Wales)
2012 – IRB Junior Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein (South Africa)
2011 – IRB Junior Player of the Year: George Ford (England)
2010 – IRB Junior Player of the Year: Julian Savea (New Zealand)
2009 – IRB Junior Player of the Year: Aaron Cruden (New Zealand)
2008 – IRB Junior Player of the Year: Luke Braid (New Zealand)
2007 – IRB International Under 19 Player of the Year: Robert Fruean (New Zealand)
2006 – IRB International Under 19 Player of the Year: Josh Holmes (Australia)
2006 – IRB International Under 21 Player of the Year: Lionel Beauxis (France)
2005 – IRB International Under 19 Player of the Year: Isaia Toeava (New Zealand)
2005 – IRB International Under 21 Player of the Year: Tatafua Polota-Nau (Australia)
2004 – IRB International Under 19 Player of the Year: Jeremy Thrush (New Zealand)
2004 – IRB International Under 21 Player of the Year: Jerome Kaino (New Zealand)
2003 – IRB Under 19 Player of the Year: Jean Baptiste Payras (France)
2003 – IRB Under 21 Player of the Year: Ben Atiga (New Zealand)
2002 – IRB Under 19 Player of the Year: Luke McAlister (New Zealand)
2002 – IRB Under 21 Player of the Year: Pat Barnard (South Africa)
2001 – IRB Young Player of the Year: Gavin Henson (Wales)

- The public now has the chance to vote on this shortlist on the official Facebook page. The results of the public poll will be considered, along with the original votes, when finalising the winner.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.