Pollard at 12 for Baby Boks

2013-06-04 16:07
Handré Pollard (Gallo Images)

Caps for Baby Boks

2013-05-30 11:59

See pics from the U20 Springbok capping ceremony.

Cape Town - The South Africa Under-20 team to face the United States in their first match of the IRB Junior World Championship has been named.

Blue Bulls forward Ruan Steenkamp will captain the side from the back of the scrum in the number eight jersey.

Handré Pollard, who starred for the Junior Boks in their 2012 JWC success, was selected at inside centre, the positioned he has played for much of the season for the Blue Bulls and UP-Tuks. Pollard is the only survivor of the Class of 2012.

The rest of the team has a rather familiar look because of the number of training and tour matches the players have played together this year in preparation for the JWC.

The backline includes a trio of Springbok Sevens players, namely Cheslin Kolbe (fullback), Justin Geduld (outside centre) and Seabelo Senatla (left wing).

Junior Springbok coach, Dawie Theron, said his troops are raring to go.

"The players are eager to get going and to get the first match under the belt. Our preparations have gone very well and there is a nice vibe in the squad. The players have all worked extremely hard to be here and our preparations have also been good.

"This is an extremely tough competition and you will have to be on your best in every match. Tomorrow it will be the first outing for both teams and I know the USA will be very determined are raring to go against us," said Theron.

The match will be televised live on SuperSport 1.

The SA Under-20 team to face the United States at 20:45 at La Roche-sur-Yon:

15 Cheslin Kolbe (WP), 14 Luther Obi (Leopards), 13 Justin Geduld (SARU contracted), 12 Handré Pollard (Blue Bulls), 11 Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted), 10 Robert du Preez (Sharks), 9 Stefan Ungerer (Sharks), 8 Ruan Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls), 6 Roelof Smit (Blue Bulls), 5 Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls), 4 Irné Herbst (Blue Bulls), 3 Luan de Bruin (Cheetahs), 2 Jacques du Toit (Cheetahs), 1 Andrew Beerwinkel (Blue Bulls)

Substitutes: 16 Michael Willemse (WP), 17 Sti Sithole (WP), 18 Aidon Davis (Kings), 19 Kwagga Smith (Lions), 20 Hanco Venter (Sharks), 21 Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls), 22 Jesse Kriel (Sharks), 23 Marné Coetzee (Blue Bulls)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.