Pietersen at No 10 for Cheetahs

2015-01-20 07:40
Joe Pietersen
Cape Town - Joe Pietersen will start at flyhalf for the Cheetahs in their pre-season friendly match against the Bulls in Polokwane on Saturday (17:00 kick-off).

The former Stormers star joined the Cheetahs from French club Biarritz late last year.

He can play fullback, wing and flyhalf, but it is believed that he was lured to Bloemfontein with the aim of filling the void left by Johan Goosen.

Flank Francois Uys will captain the Cheetahs on Saturday, but their permanent captain for the 2015 Super Rugby competition will only be announced in early February.

Heinrich Brussow is believed to be the front-runner for the captaincy role.

The Cheetahs will also play the Stormers (Cape Town, January 30) and Griffons (Welkom, January 31) as part of their Super Rugby preparations. They will pick two different squads for those two final warm-up games.

The men from Bloemfontein start their Super Rugby campaign with an away game against the Sharks in Durban on February 14.



15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Deon Stegmann (captain), 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Trevor Nyakane

Substitutes (from): Callie Visagie, Morné Mellett, Dayan van der Westhuizen, Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, Grant Hattingh, Roelof Smit, Nardus van der Walt, Arno Botha, Piet van Zyl, Tian Schoeman, Dan Kriel, Ulrich Beyers, Duncan Matthews, Jürgen Visser

15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Raymond Rhule, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Tienie Burger, 6 Jean Cook, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Mienie

Substitutes: 16 BG Uys, 17 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 18 Maks van Dyk, 19 Stephan Coetzee, 20 Carl Wegner, 21 Carel Greeff, 22 Armandt Koster, 23 Tian Meyer, 24 Francois Brummer, 25 Ryno Benjamin, 26 Oupa Mohoje, 27 Clayton Blommetjies, 28 Willie le Roux

Read more on:    bulls  |  cheetahs  |  super 15  |  joe pietersen  |  bloemfontein  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.