Newport give Kings wet weather lesson

2017-09-30 22:29
Deon Davids (Getty)

Cape Town - An excellent display of wet weather rugby saw the Newport Gwent Dragons beat the Southern Kings 29-13 in a PRO14 encounter played in Newport, Wales.

The Kings opened the scoring in the 3rd minute when flyhalf Pieter-Steyn De Wet slotted a penalty after a scrum infringement by the home side.

That spurred Newport into gear with the home side camping in the Kings 25 metre area for a number of phases before going wide to send left winger Hallam Amos over in the corner.

Veteran flyhalf Gavin Henson added the conversion to take the score out to 7-3 in the 6th minute. 

Both pivots then added a penalty each to see the score move out to 10-6 with a quarter of the match gone. 

As conditions began to worsen, Newport scored an unconverted try thanks to a well drilled rolling maul which saw hooker Elliot Dee score in the left-hand corner for a 15-6 lead in the 36th minute. 

Their third try soon followed with Amos getting his second after a clever reverse pass by scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius. 

Henson added the conversion for Newport to extend their lead to 22-6 at half-time. 

The home side started the second half the way they had ended the first and within two minutes of the restart, hooker Dee had his second of the evening and Newports bonus point try after more excellent work by the pack.

Henson added the conversion which saw the Newport with a healthy 29-6 lead.

But credit to the Kings as in the 56th minute, they had their first try of the night as flanker Anidisa Ntsila crashed over after a driving maul.

De Wet added the conversion as the visitors cut Newport's lead to 29-13. 

And that's the way it stayed till full-time.

Next week sees the Cheetahs taking on the Glasgow Warriors in Bloemfontein while the Kings face Benetton Treviso in Treviso, Italy.



Tries: Hallam Amos (2), Elliot Dee (2)

Conversions: Gavin Henson (3)

Penalty: Gavin Henson (1)


Try: Anidisa Ntsila

Conversion: Pieter-Steyn de Wet

Penalties: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (2)



15 Carl Meyer, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Gavin Henson, 9 Sarel Pretorius; 1 Brok Harris, 2 Elliot Dee, 3 Leon Brown, 4 Matthew Screech, 5 Cory Hill (c), 6 James Thomas, 7 Ollie Griffiths, 8 James Benjamin.

Substitutes: 16 Ellis Shipp, 17 Thomas Davies, 18 Lloyd Fairbrother, 19 Joe Davies, 20 Aaron Wainwright, 21 Dane Blacker, 22 Angus O’Brien, 23 Thretton Palamo.


15 Masixole Banda, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Berton Klaasen, 11 Alshaun Bock, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Dries van Schalkwyk, 7 Jurie van Vuuren, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby de Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Martin Dreyer, 2 Michael Willemse (captain), 1 Schalk Ferreira

Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Entienne Swanepoel, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Khaya Majola, 21 Rowan Gouws, 22 Oliver Zono, 23 Luzuko Vulindlu

Read more on:    southern kings  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season has wrapped up. For all the season highlights - and lowlights - be sure to visit Sport24!

Latest blogs

Which of the two South African teams competing in the inaugrual PRO14 tournament will fare best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.