Leinster skipper back for Cheetahs clash

2017-09-21 14:28
Isa Nacewa (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his team to take on the Cheetahs in a PRO14 encounter in Bloemfontein on Friday night (20:00 kick-off).

There are a number of changes from the team that beat Southern Kings 31-10 in Port Elizabeth last weekend.

Cullen has again selected Joey Carbery at fullback, while Dave Kearney is also retained but starts on the right wing with Barry Daly - who turned 25 earlier this week - named on the left wing for his first start of the campaign.

With Isa Nacewa’s visa problem sorted, the New Zealander comes back to captain the side from No 12, with Noel Reid shifting outside him to the No 13 shirt.

At halfback, Jamison Gibson-Park starts at scrumhalf, with Ross Byrne at No 10.

In the pack, it’s a new front row with Cian Healy, James Tracy and Michael Bent starting having come off the bench last week.

Ross Molony again starts at lock but is joined this week by Mick Kearney for his first start of the season.

In the back row Jordi Murphy starts at blindside flank with Jack Conan again at No 8, while Josh van der Flier will win his 50th cap from openside.

Peter Dooley returns from injury to take his place on the bench.

Cullen has also given an injury update on three other players:

Luke McGrath (arm) and Fergus McFadden (hamstring) were not considered for selection and as a result have flown home to Dublin to begin preparations for the Edinburgh game next week. Both are expected to be available for selection for that game.

In addition, James Ryan (foot) was not considered for selection but as he has been ruled out of next week’s game he has not flown home to Dublin with McGrath and McFadden.

Caelan Doris has joined the squad as cover.



15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Rosco Specman, 13 Francois Venter (captain), 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Oupa Mohoje, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld

Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Johan Coetzee, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Junior Pokomela, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Nico Lee, 23 Luther Obi


15 Joey Carbery, 14 Dave Kearney, 13 Noel Reid, 12 Isa Nacewa (captain), 11 Barry Daly, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Jordi Murphy, 5 Mick Kearney, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Michael Bent, 2 James Tracy, 1 Cian Healy

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Peter Dooley, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Rhys Ruddock, 20 Max Deegan, 21 Nick McCarthy, 22 Cathal Marsh , 23 Rory O’Loughlin  

Read more on:    isa nacewa


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

In their maiden PRO14 campaign the Kings won a single match out of 21. How many will they win in the 2018/19 season?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.