Kings run out of puff in gutsy loss to Munster

2018-04-07 22:22
Deon Davids (Getty)

Cape Town - Munster survived an almighty scare from the Kings to eventually claim a bonus-point win in their PRO14 clash at Outeniqua Park in George on Saturday.

Munster won 39-22 after trailing 15-12 at half-time.

Munster, coached by former Springbok assistant Johann van Graan and captained by SA-born Irish star CJ Stander, grew stronger and stronger in the second half to eventually run in six tries and record their first ever victory in South Africa.

The victory consolidated Munster's second-spot in Conference A.

Only the top three teams in each conference qualify for the six-team playoffs, which include two semi-final qualifiers.

The Kings, despite a valiant effort, recorded their 18th defeat in 19 matches in this, their maiden PRO14 campaign.

In their next match, Munster will travel to Bloemfontein to play the Cheetahs (Friday, April 13 at 19:35), while the Kings welcome the Cardiff Blues to Port Elizabeth (Saturday, April 14 at 19:35).



Tries: Andisa Ntsila, Stephan Greeff, Michael Makase

Conversions: Masixole Banda (2)

Penalty: Banda


Tries: Niall Scannell, Calvin Nash, CJ Stander, Dan Goggin, Rhys Marshall, David Kilcoyne

Conversions: Ian Keatley (3)

Penalty: Keatley



15 Masixole Banda, 14 Michael Makase, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Berton Klaasen, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Martin du Toit, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby de Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Schalk Ferreira (captain)

Substitutes: 16 Alandre Van Rooyen, 17 Justin Forwood, 18 Luvuyo Pupuma, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Lusanda Badiyana, 21 Rudi Van Rooyen, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa, 23 Luzuko Vulindlu


15 JJ Hanrahan, 14 Calvin Nash, 13 Dan Goggin, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Alex Wootton, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 James Hart, 8 CJ Stander (captain), 7 Conor Oliver, 6 Dave O’Callaghan, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 James Cronin

Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 Brian Scott, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Jack O’Donoghue, 21 Jack Stafford, 22 Stephen Fitzgerald, 23 Robin Copeland

Read more on:    munster  |  kings  |  pro14  |  port elizabeth  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the two South African teams competing in the 2019/20 PRO14 tournament will fare best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.