Kings denied at the death by Cheetahs

2020-01-25 17:23
Bader Pretorius (Gallo Images)
Bader Pretorius (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Southern Kings were denied history at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday when they lost to the Cheetahs with the final kick of the match - in injury time.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

The Cheetahs won 31-30 after trailing 13-5 at half-time.

The Kings led throughout the match, but an extra-time conversion by former Springbok Ruan Pienaar following a try by fullback Rhyno Smith denied the Kings what would have been a first ever victory over their visitors.

The bonus-point win for the Cheetahs saw them move up to third (out of 7 teams) in Conference A.

The Kings picked up a losing bonus point, but remain rooted to the bottom of Conference B. To their credit, they are a far more competitive side under the watchful eye of Rob Kempson.

The Cheetahs will host the Kings in Bloemfontein in the next match for both sides on Saturday, February 1.

Kick-off is at 17:00.

- Compiled by Garrin Lambley


Southern Kings

Tries: Bader Pretorius, Stefan Ungerer, JT Jackson

Conversions: Pretorius (3)

Penalties: Pretorius (3)


Tries: Sintu Majezi (2), Wilmar Arnoldi, Rhyno Smith (2)

Conversions: Tian Schoeman, Ruan Pienaar (2)


Southern Kings

15 Masixole Banda, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Sibusiso Sithole, 12 John-Thomas Jackson, 11 Erich Cronje, 10 Bader Pretorius, 9 Stefan Ungerer (captain), 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Ruaan Lerm, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 Jerry Sexton, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Schalk Ferreira

Substitutes: 16 Alandre van Rooyen, 17 Xandre Vos, 18 Ignatius Prinsloo, 19 Bobby de Wee, 20 Lusanda Badiyana, 21 Theo Maree, 22 Courtney Winnaar, 23 Andell Loubser


15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Gerhard Olivier, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Chris Massyn, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Boan Venter

Substitutes: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Erich de Jager, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 George Whitehead, 23 Chris Smit


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the two South African teams competing in the 2019/20 PRO14 tournament will fare best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.