McCaw to lead NZ for 100th time

2014-11-20 07:23
Richie McCaw (AFP)

Cardiff - Richie McCaw will become the first player to captain an international team in 100 Tests after New Zealand coach Steve Hansen reverted to virtually his first choice selection to face Wales in Cardiff on Saturday.

McCaw, who first captained the side against Wales in Cardiff on November 20, 2004, played blindside flank last week against Scotland but has switched back to his normal role in the number seven jersey for his 137th test.

Beauden Barrett has won the hotly contested battle for the starting flyhalf position, with Hansen opting not to give world leading points scorer Daniel Carter another run after his rusty performance last week against Scotland.

Aaron Cruden, who had started the majority of the Tests this year in Carter's absence, also failed to make the squad as Hansen said he wanted to give Barrett an opportunity to start a test on their four-game tour.

"We're using this tour to find out more about the guys we've got," Hansen told New Zealand media in Cardiff.

"We've seen Crudes on this tour in one of the big games against England and we wanted to see Beauden against one as well."

The 32-year-old Carter has barely played this year after a six-month break from the game and an injury-enforced absence from a broken leg.

He looked rusty last week against Scotland in his first start for the team in a year and Hansen said it was a major reason why he was not considered.

"If he had come through the other day probably a little bit better he might have been on the bench," Hansen added.

"But it's impossible to ask a guy who has played the amount of rugby he's had to not be rusty. It was a big ask.

"For him it's great that he's got confidence that his body is right, we've got confidence his body is right.

"He just needs to go home now and play some Super Rugby and lots of it."


Wales:15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Jake Ball, 3-Samson Lee, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paul James

Substitutes: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 James Hook, 23 Liam Williams

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Charles Piutau, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Wyatt Crockett.

Substitutes: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Liam Messam, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Colin Slade, 23-Ryan Crotty

Read more on:    all blacks  |  richie mccaw  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.