Junior Boks pick training squad

2015-04-04 11:18
Dawie Theron (Gallo)

Cape Town - The SARU national selectors have named a squad of 37 players for the Junior Springbok training camp in preparation for the 2015 World Rugby Under-20 Championship to be played during June in Italy.

The group will assemble in Stellenbosch on Monday.

The revised training squad was confirmed after a four-day trials camp last week in Stellenbosch.

The group includes several players who are currently busy with Super Rugby, Vodacom Cup and Varsity Cup commitments.

These players, such as Thomas du Toit, Dan du Preez (both Sharks) and Hanro Liebenberg (Blue Bulls) will join the training camp at a later stage.

Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron described last week’s trials camp as a very good exercise.

"We could get a nice close up look at the performances of a large group of promising players and how they responded to the instructions we gave them.

"The youngsters spent valuable time with the SARU Mobi-Unit and I am sure they now have a good understanding of our playing principles and structures.

"The hard work starts now to prepare them for the very demanding and tough U20 Championship," said Theron.

The training group consists of 20 backs and 17 forwards, with the bulk of the players drawn from the ranks of Western Province (12), Blue Bulls (10) and the Sharks (8).

The Junior Springbok training group is:

Forwards (20):
Thomas du Toit (Sharks)
Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs)
Frans van Wyk (Western Province)
Abongile Nonkontwana (Blue Bulls)
RG Snyman ( Blue Bulls)
CJ Velleman (Blue Bulls)
Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
Hanro Liebenberg (Blue Bulls)
Ox Nche (Free State Cheetahs)
Jan van der Merwe ( Blue Bulls)
Conrad van Vuuren (Free State Cheetahs)
Jason Jenkins (Blue Bulls)
Hyron Andrews (Sharks)
Jacques Vemeulen (Western Province)
Rikus Bothma (Western Province)
Mzamo Majola (Sharks)
Reinach Venter (Free State Cheetahs)
Ruan Kramer (Sharks)
Dan du Preez (Sharks)
Walt Steenkamp (Leopards)

Backs (17):
Justin Phillips (Western Province)
Brandon Thompson (Western Province)
Leolin Zas (Western Province)
Daniel du Plessis (Western Province)
Warrick Gelant   (Blue Bulls)
Jinx Molapo (Blue Bulls)
Grant Hermanus (Western Province)
Ivan van Zyl (Blue Bulls)
Ernst Stapelberg (Western Province)
Khanyo Ngcukana  (Western Province)
Adrian Maebane (Blue Bulls)
JT Jackson (Blue Bulls)
EW Viljoen (Western Province)
Marco Janse van Vuuren  (Golden Lions)
Innocent Radebe (Sharks)
Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)
Remu Malan (Western Province)

Read more on:    baby boks  |  dawie theron  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.