Injured duo in Ireland squad

2015-01-23 16:11
Cian Healy (AFP)

London - Leinster pair Cian Healy and Sean O'Brien were named in the provisional 46-man Ireland Six Nations squad announced by coach Joe Schmidt on Thursday despite both suffering from injuries.

Flank O'Brien, 27, has not played for his country since hurting his shoulder in Ireland's 24-22 loss to New Zealand in November 2013, but is nearing fitness after undergoing two operations.

Prop Healy, also 27, suffered a severe hamstring tear last September, but both players are in contention to feature for the second-string Irish Wolfhounds against England Saxons on January 30.

"The coaching group have tried to strike a balance between some players getting the chance to fully complete their rehabilitation programmes, or get a bit of rest, and others getting the opportunity to push their claims with further game time in the Wolfhounds fixture," Schmidt said in a statement released by the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU).

Connacht prop Nathan White and Leinster back-rower Jack Conan were the only uncapped players called up by Schmidt.

New Zealand-born White, 33, was due to make his Ireland debut during the November internationals, only to rupture a tendon in his arm.

Racing Metro flyhalf Johnny Sexton, Munster scrumhalf Conor Murray and Connacht centre Robbie Henshaw were all included despite injury concerns.

Ireland will be missing a number of first-team players due to injury when they open the defence of their Six Nations title against Italy in Rome on February 7.

Chris Henry, Paddy Jackson, Stuart Olding, Dan Tuohy and Damien Varley have all been left out of the squad, while Robin Copeland, Dave Kilcoyne, Luke Marshall, Donncha Ryan and Andrew Trimble have been placed on standby.

Ireland training squad for the 2015 Six Nations:

Forwards: Michael Bent (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster), Jack Conan, Sean Cronin (both Leinster), James Cronin (Munster), Robbie Diack (Ulster), Dave Foley (Munster), Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip (both Leinster), Iain Henderson, Rob Herring (both Ulster), Mike McCarthy, Jack McGrath, Martin Moore, Jordi Murphy, Sean O'Brien (all Leinster), Paul O'Connell, Tommy O'Donnell, Peter O'Mahony (all Munster), Mike Ross, Rhys Ruddock, Dominic Ryan, Richardt Strauss, Devin Toner (all Leinster), Nathan White (Connacht)

Backs: Isaac Boss (Leinster), Tommy Bowe, Darren Cave (both Ulster), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Felix Jones (Munster), Dave Kearney, Rob Kearney (both Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan, Noel Reid (both Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro/FRA), Simon Zebo (Munster)

Read more on:    ireland  |  six nations  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.