Hoskins elected to IRB post

2011-12-13 07:50

Los Angeles - South Africa Rugby Union (SARU) president, Oregan Hoskins, has been elected vice-chairman of the International Rugby Board (IRB) at a meeting in Los Angeles, USA, on Monday night.

Hoskins, who faced opposition from current vice-chairman, Bill Beaumont, was elected after securing the chairman’s casting vote following two rounds of voting which were tied 13-13.

The election of Hoskins followed the re-election of Bernard Lapasset of France as the chairman of the IRB for a second successive term. Lapasset and Hoskins will begin in office on January 1, 2012.

“It is an honour to accept this mandate,” said Hoskins. “I am looking forward to working in partnership with Bernard and my colleagues on Council to ensure that Rugby is best placed to thrive as a sport at both the elite and community levels as we continue to build a platform for sustainable growth in the decade ahead that will include two Rugby World Cups and Rugby Sevens’ Olympic Games debut.”

Lapasset, who faced opposition from current vice-chairman Bill Beaumont, was elected by a 14-12 from the 26 members of the Council in the first round of voting.

Lapasset has presided over Rugby’s return to the Olympic Games, Argentina’s inclusion in The Rugby Championship, a 10-year tours and Test schedule, the awarding of Rugby World Cup to an Asian country for the first time and an exceptional Rugby World Cup 2011 during his recent term.

"I am committed to building on the good progress to date,” said Lapasset. “We have fantastic opportunities to grow the game, to reach new markets and welcome new members to the Rugby family.

“Together we also have to address the issues that face our sport and many other sports, including the delivery of a robust financial model for sustainable growth for our Unions, upholding our values, promoting the best possible welfare for our athletes and maintaining integrity.”

The also elected the seven representatives to serve on the IRB Executive Committee (alongside chairman Lapasset, vice-chairman Hoskins and Chief Executive Mike Miller) for four years from January 1, 2012. They are: Bill Beaumont (England), Tatsuzo Yabe (Japan), Giancarlo Dondi (Italy), Peter McGrath (Australia), Peter Boyle (Ireland), Graham Mourie (New Zealand) and Bob Latham (NACRA).


  • Kosie - 2011-12-13 08:11

    does this mean he is leaving the saru post.

      morganpiek - 2011-12-13 08:53

      No, Hoskins will stay on as the head of SARU. He is allowed to because his IRB job is a vice-chairman role. if he was elected chairman he would have to resign from SARU.

      Go - 2011-12-13 11:23

      so they give the AB's the world cup and give Hoskins a new job. Should we feel better about it ?? Lol

  • Jaco - 2011-12-13 08:38

    Would be interesting to find out how each of the delegates (countries) voted...

  • Hansie - 2011-12-13 09:17

    Why was this board meeting held in Los Angeles?

  • Johan - 2011-12-13 09:57

    Dis verseker hoe die IRB probeer opmaak vir die feit dat Bryce SA bedonner het. Wont change it mates. Charge him for match fixing when he enters SA.

  • Chris - 2011-12-13 10:15

    Congratulations Mr Hoskins,this is indeed an nonour for South Africa!!!!!!\

  • SirFGrumpy - 2011-12-13 10:32

    Good man well done!

  • Terrence - 2011-12-13 11:06

    I think SARU was spared a lot of controversy under his leadership. A good administrator indeed. Congratulations Mr Hoskins.

  • pages:
  • 1