Gilchrist gets Cotter's nod

2014-06-18 22:19
Vern Cotter (File)

Buenos Aires - Scotland head coach Vern Cotter has named lock Grant Gilchrist as captain for Friday's Test against Argentina in Cordoba.

Cotter rang the changes with just four players remaining from the team that narrowly beat Canada 19-17 in Toronto last week.

Edinburgh lock Gilchrist has been handed the role despite having played just six Tests and never having captained his club.

"He has impressed me with his leadership qualities," Cotter said.

"He leads by example. Some captains are more at ease talking and organising whereas Gilcho is more adept at just getting on with it."

Gilchrist added: "It's a huge honour, one I'm really looking forward to.

"For me it's a boyhood dream. Of course there's massive responsibility, not just to this team, but to the entire country and Scotland fans throughout the world, but I'm really excited by it."

Gilchrist, Peter Horne, Sean Maitland and Stuart Hogg are the only players who lined up against Canada remaining along with replacements Blair Cowan, Kieran Low and Grayson Hart.

They are joined by eight players who flew directly to Argentina from Scotland.

Argentina lost their two Tests against Ireland 23-17 and 29-17, and Cotter is expecting a tough clash.

"We have to show teeth. We have to be able to attack from anywhere and we have to be able to dictate the pace and tempo of games. It's a challenge," he said.

"Argentina have to prepare for their Four Nations and they were much better in their second game against Ireland than in their first and they'll be looking for that same progression into the game against us."





15 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), 14 Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors), 13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), 12 Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), 11 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), 10 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), 9 Grayson Hart (Edinburgh), 8 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), 7 Ross Ford (Edinburgh), 6 Geoff Cross (Glasgow Warriors), 5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), 4 Grant Gilchrist (captain, Edinburgh), 3 Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), 2 Blair Cowan (London Irish), 1 Kieran Low (London Irish)

Substitutes: 16 Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors), 17 Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors), 18 Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), 19 Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), 20 Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors), 21 Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors), 22 Tom Heathcote (Bath), 23 Dougie Fife (Edinburgh)

Read more on:    rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.