Fosita answers Tonga's call

2014-11-20 21:30
Latiume Fosita (Getty Images)

Edinburgh - Tonga's Latiume Fosita was selected at flyhalf on Thursday for their match against Scotland in Kilmarnock on Saturday.

Fosita's inclusion was the only change to the starting XV that defeated the United States 40-12 at Gloucester, south-west England, last weekend.

Kurt Morath, Tonga's No 10 against the Eagles, took Fosita's bench spot.

Their side features five survivors from the team that beat the Scots 21-15 two years ago -- a match that was to prove Andy Robinson's last as Scotland coach -- with fullback Vungakoto Lilo, wing Fetu'u Vainikolo, No 8 Viliami Ma'afu, captain and flanker Nili Latu, and lock Tukulua Lokotui all looking to repeat the success they enjoyed at Aberdeen Football Club's Pittodrie ground.

Tonga's bench includes hooker Elvis Taione and flanker Hale T Pole, who were both in the side that started against Scotland in 2012 -- the last of three meetings between the two countries.

Saturday's match, which takes place at the Rugby Park home ground of Scottish Premiership football club Kilmarnock, will be the first major international rugby union Test to be played on a purely synthetic pitch.

Earlier, Scotland coach Vern Cotter made four injury-induced changes to the side that pushed New Zealand hard before losing 24-16 to the world champions at Murrayfield last week.

In the backs, Glasgow's Sean Lamont, who came on in the 13th minute against the All Blacks, retained his place while fit-again wing Tim Visser was given a start after Sean Maitland suffered a hamstring injury.

Up front, tighthead prop Geoff Cross and No 8 Johnnie Beattie replaced Euan Murray and Adam Ashe, who missed out through thigh and neck injuries respectively.



15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Sean Lamont, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 Johnnie Beattie, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson

Substitutes: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Ryan Grant, 19 Kieran Low, 20 Alasdair Strokosch, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Duncan Taylor


15 Vungakoto Lilo, 14 David Halaifonua, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Hemani Paea, 11 Fetu'u Vainikolo, 10 Latiume Fosita, 9 Sonatane Takulua, 8 Viliami Ma'afu, 7 Nili Latu (captain), 6 Sione Kalamafoni, 5 Joe Tu'ineau, 4 Tukulua Lokotui, 3 Paea Fa'anunu, 2 Aleki Lutui, 1 Tevita Mailau

Substitutes: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Sione Lea, 18 Sila Puafisi, 19 Lisiate Fa'aoso, 20 Hale T Pole, 21 Tomasi Palu, 22 Kurt Morath, 23 Sione Piukala

Read more on:    rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.